Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On – What’s Happening Brother”

29 Nov

This song means more to me today than it ever has in my entire life. I haven’t had a lot to say lately and I have even less to say currently. The time for words has come to an end and they weren’t listening anyway.

13 Responses to “Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On – What’s Happening Brother””

  1. ShelbyCourtland November 29, 2014 at 3:01 PM #

    You got that right HLJ! They never have listened and they never will listen. We are whistling in the wind. How else can it be explained that the same mess that’s going down today has been going down for centuries?

    • hunglikejesus November 29, 2014 at 8:04 PM #

      These last few days have been extremely hard for me. I really in danger for the first time in my life. They are gunning us down in the streets and people are justifying it. This to me is open season and I am fucking mad as shit.

  2. Transcendant One November 30, 2014 at 7:09 PM #

    Dear Brother Blacka, I hear you and feel what you feel. Tired and Sick and TIred describes my feelings at this time. Thank you so sincerely for sending me this video. It is reminiscent of a time when I was coming of age and never would have realized how far we have come and yet much has stayed the same. The so called Integration experiment and black people strategically showcased to fool the masses of us into thinking our mortal enemy has changed has hopefully been REVEALED as a devious plot Too many are still gunned down despite the so called mule black president and the billionaress Oprah and the now dethroned Puddin’ Pop Cosby. There are none so blind as those that refuse to see. For those who cannot see the Picture Clearly get to your ophthalmologist for an exam today! Date: Sat, 29 Nov 2014 18:50:36 +0000 To: estellelight@hotmail.com

    • hunglikejesus November 30, 2014 at 7:32 PM #

      Yes sis, I’ve been in mourning for days and no funeral for closure and no closure because it’s coming again soon. I honestly feel like family members are being taken from and stranger see my hurt and stomp salt and vinegar in my open wounds. But I damned straight to hell before they break me or see a single tear.

      Tired of this was last year – what I am is murderous.

  3. Mary Burrell November 30, 2014 at 8:57 PM #

    Yes, this song is very relevant in this day and time. Glad to read you again.

  4. Kushite Prince December 4, 2014 at 1:21 PM #

    A beautiful song! A timeless classic. What’s Going on??? I’ve been asking myself that very question a lot lately. The list just gets longer and longer…….

    Lil Bobby Hutton, Fred Hampton, Mark Clark, Amadou Diallo, Jonathan Ferrell, Oscar Grant, Aiyana Jones age 7, Kimani Gray, Kendrec McDade, Timothy Russell, Ervin Jefferson, Patrick Dorismond, Ousmane Zongo, Timothy Stansbury Jr. Sean Bell, Orlando Barlow, Aaron Campbell, Victor Steen, Steven Eugene Washington, Alonzo Ashley, Wendell Allen, Ronald Madison and James Brissette, Travares McGill, Ramarley Graham, Rekia Boyd, Yvette Smith, Tyisha Miller, Denzel Curnell, Terrance Williams, Felipe Santos in all likelyhood murdered by former Naples deputy Corporal Steven Henry Calkins who was fired but never charged with any crime for his roll in the double slaying, + Rodney Mitchell, Alesia Thomas, Victor White III, John Adams, Milton Hill, Wendell Allen, Danroy Henry Jr., Dee-Jay Galmon, Tony Francis, Irene Bamenga, Malik Jones, Kenneth Chamberlain, Darrin Hanna, John Husband, Travis McNiell, Tamon Robinson, Henry Glover, DeAunta Farrow age 12, Mack “Jody” Woodfox, John T.Williams, Tarika Wilson, + Alonzo O’Kelly 15 yrs old + Jesus Mejia + Kenny Lazo + Clifton Lee Jr. + Robert McIntosh + Robert James Smith + Elio Carrion + John Doe-shot dead-Chicago/5/14/06 + James Deon Lennox + Kenneth Gray “Suggs” + Michael Newby + Robert Whitlow + Fidencio Campos Cruz + Desmond Rudolph + Adrian Reynolds + Rodney Abernathy + Clifford Lewis + Antwan D. Bryant + James Edward Taylor + Marshall Marbly + Cammerin Boyd + Bernard C. Burden + Tou Yang + Courtney Williams + Joshua Rucker + Nathaniel Jones + Nathaniel Morgan + Sammy Evans 49 neck broken, + Ashley Villarreal 14 yrs old, + Francisco Barva + Stanley Miller 13 yrs old, + Aaron Shaw savagely beaten to death, + Kenneth Walker + William Henderson unarmed &shot 17 times, + Andre Brown 40, + Franklyn Reid + Brian Fillmore + Our beloved brother Eric Garner + Gary King Jr killed by the OPD + Derek Brown killed by the Tennessee Highway Patrol 9/29/13 + Miriam Carey murdered by the Capitol Police + The murder of Marlon Brown by FL Police premeditated vehicular homicide + John Crawford 22, murdered by police in Ohio Walmart + Michael Brown 18 yrs old unarmed, murdered by the St. Luis police dept + Luis Rodriguez 44 beat to death by 3 Moore officers and 2 game wardens + Jacory Calhoun 23 shot in the back as he ran for his life by the Oakland PD + Keith Warren lynched in Silver Spring Maryland 1986 if the Montgomery PD weren’t directly involved they did take action to protect the killers. + Timmy Thomas 19 in 2001 shot dead by the Cincinnati PD + Ezell Ford 24 yrs old murdered by the LAPD ,he was shot in the back as he lay down complying with officers demands.
    I feel you HLJ. I’m starting to really get pissed too! Nothing wrong with righteous RAGE sometimes. We’ll get through it though.

    • hunglikejesus December 4, 2014 at 1:33 PM #

      Thank you and I’m gonna use this list on my other blog if you don’t mind.

      • Kushite Prince December 4, 2014 at 1:42 PM #

        It’s cool. I don’t mind.

  5. TiredSista March 13, 2015 at 12:25 PM #

    Love this song! Still sooo relevant today. It’s rough brotha and I feel your pain, anger, and frustration. Stay strong, brotha!

  6. Djibril March 25, 2015 at 9:19 AM #

    This is a fantastic song and my favourite album ever! Whenever I listen to it, I have to contain the tears. So powerful!
    Thank you for sharing this brother.
    One Love

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On – What’s Happening Brother” | DEPRESSION: my muse | innerstanding isness - December 4, 2014

    […] via Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On – What’s Happening Brother” | DEPRESSION: my muse. […]

Leave a comment