Slavery of Faith

10 Jul

51vyjAalfYL

I came across this interview from one of the many podcasts that I sub to. It’s the story of Leslie Wagner-Wilson and her time and escape from The Peoples Temple, Jim Jones and Guyana. This lady touched me so deeply with her story I had to post this here so that more could hear this incredible life changing and life affirming slice of inhumanity. I won’t say much more, but please find time to listen to this interview and I bet MY life you won’t be sorry.

YOU CAN FIND THE INTERVIEW HERE.

300x300hqdefault (1)jonestown_16x9leslie-wagner-wilson

11 Responses to “Slavery of Faith”

  1. sepultura13 July 11, 2015 at 10:10 AM #

    She is definitely one of the fortunate few to have escaped that cult. Her strength and courage cannot be denied.

  2. bvsmith July 11, 2015 at 12:26 PM #

    Thank you!

  3. Kushite Prince July 11, 2015 at 1:51 PM #

    Thank for this post HLJ. I’ve never heard this story before. I will have to get that book. And thanks for the podcast link as well.

    • stuartbramhall July 11, 2015 at 8:26 PM #

      Thanks for sharing, I had a client in the 1990s who was duped into joining Jim Jones’s temple but managed to escape before he took them to Jonestown.

      • Kushite Prince July 11, 2015 at 8:42 PM #

        Really? They were very fortunate!

      • hunglikejesus July 12, 2015 at 5:51 AM #

        I remember when this story broke though I was very young. The photos of all the dead women, men and children have haunted me since then. I knew the story had to be wrong – people lining up to drink poison didn’t sound human to me. And I do believe this is where the term “drinking the kool-aid” came from. Those people had to forced in some kinds of way and it was also said that Jones has a double and that a lot of those people were found to have gunshots in the back. Which is what they would have had to do me.

        • stuartbramhall July 12, 2015 at 7:04 PM #

          I have always been impressed by John Judge’s research into links between the CIA and Jonestown: http://www.ratical.org/ratville/JFK/JohnJudge/Jonestown.html

          Judge believed it was some kind of experimental slave colony where they also sent children of the Wall Street political elite who refused to get with the program.

          • hunglikejesus July 12, 2015 at 7:06 PM #

            Thank you I’ll be checking this out. Thank you though it does make my skin crawl.

  4. Mary Burrell June 12, 2016 at 8:31 PM #

    @hunglikejesus:Hello didn’t know you were still blogging.

    • hunglikejesus June 12, 2016 at 8:35 PM #

      HEY MS. MARY!!!! How are you sweetie?

      I’m not blogging on this site much anymore though I still write but mostly just as a therapy.

Leave a Reply

