Teddy Pendergrass: Do We Remember R & B?

21 Nov

Image

 

 

 

 

 

23 Responses to “Teddy Pendergrass: Do We Remember R & B?”

  1. No Black Pete November 21, 2013 at 2:18 PM #

    Early week’s end, huh? It is hard to od on “Teddybear”, but I had to stop myself. I have another date with Sampha.

    • ShelbyCourtland November 21, 2013 at 2:53 PM #

      Love my old school R&B!! Love me some ‘Teddy’!! This brings back some great memories. Oh, those yesteryears!!!

      • No Black Pete November 21, 2013 at 2:55 PM #

        Ha. See what happens when you overindulge? Got to take Teddy slowly and with caution. For those special moments, otherwise you find your self lusting for ever more.

        • ShelbyCourtland November 21, 2013 at 3:06 PM #

          Every time I see Whitney Houston and all of the other greats who have now passed on, Teddy, Barry White, Luther Vandross, Michael Jackson, Levert, Roger, the tears just flow. What they produced was music, real soul stirring music! I weep for what we have lost!

          • No Black Pete November 21, 2013 at 3:10 PM #

            See HLJ, now you done did it! But, then again, Shelby weeping means we get another great post…
            Hmm. Something is off with my reasoning. Ah, the lack of brain cells. Still busy reviving them.

            • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 4:51 PM #

              So glad you all are enjoying it.

              I must have listened to TP for about four hours today. And he’s still playing now. One of my not guilty pleasure.

              Your reasons? I your reasoning is as sound as a sunset. You my be experiencing a little euphoria induced by audio dopeness. You’ll be fine after awhile.

          • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 4:42 PM #

            I was in that very same spot today. Time is really cruel on us feeling people.

      • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 4:39 PM #

        Yes. I woke up this morning to Somebody Told Me, and from there I was infected.

        I have a long since deceased aunt who loved TP and always had him playing. It was thoughts of that I was brought to while listening.

        So many memories. That’s the good thing about memories; you can unpack them and they take up very little space.

    • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 4:30 PM #

      Take your time, they ain’t going no where.

  2. diaryofanegress November 21, 2013 at 2:29 PM #

    Lawd…

    You just got me all excited.

  3. Kushite Prince November 21, 2013 at 3:16 PM #

    I can see all this Teddy is putting you ladies in a mood!lol

    • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 4:53 PM #

      TP still doing it from the other side. I wish I had that (wherever that is).

      • ShelbyCourtland November 21, 2013 at 5:47 PM #

        I am certainly IN the mood! When I see a certain someone tomorrow night, it’s ON!! LOL!!! oh and *sniff* *sniff* Still I weep for the fact that even though, they are no longer with us and their music is, they still had so much potential to share with us even more of their beautiful voices. Sigh!!! Back to listening!!!

        Thank you SO much for posting this! It can be a ‘downer’ but it is also a real ‘pick me up’!!!!

        • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 5:57 PM #

          HA!!

          You go head Sista and do what you do.

          It is bittersweet but such is life.

          When my father died a few months back, while at home I saw cousins I hadn’t seen in years. Seeing them threw me for a loop that took two weeks for me to come out of. I was stuck in the 70’s and couldn’t get enough of anything that reminded me of those years. The music made me so sad for many reasons, but the purge was a good thing for me, I hope it’s good for you as well.

          Really glad you’re enjoying this.

          Also, it’s so hard to believe that TP only died three years ago.

          • ShelbyCourtland November 21, 2013 at 6:09 PM #

            Ain’t it though? That just shows you how time flies. So many people gone who loved this music. My aunt, she has passed away, God rest her soul, but every time she would hear this music, my uncle knew that they would be going dancing that night and get ready for ‘an all night thang’! LOL!! There seemed to have been so much joy in the simple things back then. I remember as a child watching the adults have such fun. No shooting or cussing, just dancing and laughter!

            Some times, I love memories and then they can just get ‘cha’ all choked up!!! So many gone now, both family and those who sung the songs that family danced to and loved. I gotta get outta here! I can’t decide whether to be morbid or get to dancin’!

      • Kushite Prince November 22, 2013 at 3:24 PM #

        Yeah I know. Teddy definitely had “it”.

  4. mary burrell November 21, 2013 at 9:51 PM #

    Shelby Courtland said everything I wanted to say, all of the wonderful artist Teddy Pendergrass, and Michael Jackson, Luther Vandross and Whitney Houston, it just makes me so sad. R&B is a dead art form. There are no other artist who can do music like this. I miss all of them.

    • hunglikejesus November 21, 2013 at 9:53 PM #

      It makes me so sad as well, but they left us their gifts that continue to give.

Leave a Reply

