Ladies Night

9 Nov

I LOVE THE FEMALE VOICE AND ALL MY TOP VOCALIST ARE WOMEN, I HOPE YOU ENJOY MY SELECTIONS.

My absolute favorite vocalist outside of Nina:

The carriers of the torch:

62 Responses to “Ladies Night”

  1. Kushite Prince November 9, 2013 at 7:43 PM #

    You obviously have great taste in music. I love Roberta Flack. Her voice is flawless. Sade has the voice of an angel. Of course Patti is in her own category. Her music is timeless. As a kid though I was in love with Chaka Khan and Anita Baker the most! I loved the outfits and charisma that Chaka had. She was so unique! But Anita was my girl! I had the hugest crush on her. Most of my buddies liked Janet Jackson back then. But Anita was a real woman. Her voice was so sooooooothing! That song Angel is classic. I could listen to that song five times in a row. Actually I have!lol Great list brother! All these sistas are bad! No one can sing like black folks.

    • hunglikejesus November 9, 2013 at 7:57 PM #

      Chaka was so sexy before sexy was a thing. And Anita, please, she has seen me through so many hard times and good times.

      Roberta Flack is one oft mother’s favorite singers so she just stuck with me.

      Sade l saw live and I was taken by her absolute perfect pitch and she a true showoman.

      • Kushite Prince November 10, 2013 at 2:32 PM #

        Have you seen Sade’s daughter? She’s a beautiful young lady. Sade takes her on tour sometimes. She also has done some background singing with her mother. Second coming of Sade??? We shall see.
        I’m really jealous though. I’ve never seen Sade in concert. She came to my city two years ago I believe. Tickets sold like hot cakes!! I was out of town do I missed out. But I have a DVD of her in concert. But nothing compares to a live show.
        I know what you mean about Anita. Her voice can really lift your spirits. Chaka was sexy as hell! Do you remember that song “I Feel for You”? I think it was back in 1983 or 1984. I was kid back then(showing my age). But I loved that video! If I’m not mistaken I believe Prince wrote that song. Kudos to Prince for that one. That was a magical era of music to me. I think some of the best music was between 1978-1988. Of course everyone has their favorite time periods. But I just don’t hear THAT type of music anymore. I do see some glimpses of greatness in some artists. But where is this generations Nina Simone? Roberta Flack? Or even Anita Baker? Instead we get Beyonce,Rihanna,Lady Gaga and Miley Cyrus. *sigh*

  2. Jeff Nguyen November 9, 2013 at 8:25 PM #

    Yikes, Robert Flack, Anita Baker, Chaka Kahn…they don’t make them like this anymore. Or maybe they do, I don’t listen to the radio much anymore.

    • hunglikejesus November 9, 2013 at 8:33 PM #

      Nah!!! Nothing on the radio anymore for people who can hear.

  3. No Black Pete November 10, 2013 at 2:28 PM #

    I love her voice, but I find that Anita Baker is still my Kryptonite. Phew.

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 2:29 PM #

      Yes. She is mine as well.

      • No Black Pete November 10, 2013 at 2:31 PM #

        How so?

        • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 2:45 PM #

          No matter what I’m doing when Anita comes on she demands my attention. I know the words to all her songs so of course I become a vocalist. She’s seen me through a lot.

          • No Black Pete November 10, 2013 at 2:50 PM #

            Then she is your pacifier. I know a lot of people see her that way. I must have overdosed somewhere.

            • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 2:56 PM #

              I guess you could that, but I wouldn’t. Grown males don’t need no pacifier.

              • No Black Pete November 10, 2013 at 3:06 PM #

                Oh, that is right. Grown men ARE the pacifiers. Hmmm. I feel better about shunning Anita now.

                • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 3:21 PM #

                  I have know idea what grown men do, all I can speak on is grown males and grown males don’t need pacifiers because we wouldn’t know what to do with one.

  4. mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 2:52 PM #

    they all sound so good, it’s hard to believe there is no artist today like these idk if they are not out there or are they just not famous.

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 3:23 PM #

      No. Talent is no longer needed, just a some software and a naked to half naked body will do just fine.

      • mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 3:25 PM #

        *sigh* yeah I know I just wonder if there are any talented ones left that are not in the mainstream if they are even out there.

        • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 3:35 PM #

          There are so many artist out that’ll never be seen or heard by the masses. I listen to them everyday. I couldn’t even tell you what the radio stations I my area are. I just don’t even bother.

  5. Kushite Prince November 10, 2013 at 4:14 PM #

    There are some talented ladies out there. If you know where to look. Some of my faves are:
    Rochelle Jordan
    Amel Larrieux
    Natalie Stewart
    Vivian Green
    Goapele
    Lalah Hathaway
    Ravaughn Brown
    All of them are very different and have unique voices. They don’t have to go for shock value like Lady Gaga. Or get half naked like Rihanna. They just rely on singing ability,charisma and stage presence.
    As for men singers…..Hmmmmm.. There’s a few. I think Dwele,Bilal and Raheem Devaughn are pretty talented brothers. Can anyone name any other singers? I’m always looking for good music I haven’t heard before.

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 4:16 PM #

      Ow got damn! Please let’s not start the list thing. I could do for an hour. LOL!!! All good choices though…yours I mean.

      • Kushite Prince November 10, 2013 at 4:32 PM #

        Don’t let me get in a roll.lol But in all seriousness these are talented ladies. I really love the latest CDs by Amel and Goapele. These two ladies are very underrated! I encourage others to go on YouTube and check all these ladies music. If they are not already familiar with their work. I think they’ll be pleasantly surprised!

        • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 4:46 PM #

          Amel was here about two weeks ago but I had to be on the plantation.

          Her latest single Afraid gets heavy play on my ipod.

          I’ll post it for all that haven’t heard it and one by ex girlfriend Goapele.

    • mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 7:54 PM #

      musiq soulchild, marsha ambrosius, amerie, Minnie ripperton,

      • Kushite Prince November 11, 2013 at 2:50 PM #

        Very good list sista! All very talented in their own right.

        • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 2:54 PM #

          Y’all forgot all about the UK. To me that’s where the dopiest music is coming from now.

          • Kushite Prince November 11, 2013 at 3:14 PM #

            Well you know a lot more about the UK scene than the rest of us. Don’t be shy brother. Go ahead and drop that list!lol Or maybe you can do a separate post on UK singers to look out for. A way of introducing to those of us not that familiar with them.

          • mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 4:32 PM #

            well marsha ambrosius did a song with an artist from the uk does that count rofl. oh knowledgeable one plz bestow on us some good uk music for we do not know what we are missing.

    • mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 12:31 AM #

      hot dam ur highness I hadn’t heard of Rochelle Jordan I just listened to her song shotgun and wow i’m in love with her hair and her voice. ravaughn brown i’d never heard of either she sounds nice. I heard Natalie stewart on a floetry song her rhymes are so smooth.

      • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 5:55 AM #

        Love her as well.

      • Kushite Prince November 11, 2013 at 1:59 PM #

        Rochelle is no joke! The sista can SANG!lol I’m glad I could introduce her to you.

  6. mary burrell November 10, 2013 at 4:56 PM #

    you have an old spirit for such a youngster, I say yes to all of these, there are so many more, you forgot Whitney Houston. And Vesta and Randy Crawford.

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 4:59 PM #

      Hey Ms. Mary, if I would have listed all the ones I wanted to, I’d still be trying to finish this post. There’s plenty of time to bring it all home. You sit tight and watch.

  7. mary burrell November 10, 2013 at 5:02 PM #

    You forgot Ledisi.

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 5:03 PM #

      No Ms. Mary, I didn’t I had to cut it off somewhere. I’ll be back and next I’ll dedicate it to you.

    • mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 7:47 PM #

      oh yes ledisi is my girl I love her song pieces of me.

  8. mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 7:45 PM #

    wow I just fell in love with amel larrieux thanks to u I looked up her other songs and omg i’m loving her song called for real, she is great. I also love goapele I like her song closer and tears on my pillow. marsha ambrosius is also another one of my faves, I’m so crazy when I first heard marsha solo I was like I know this chick I know her voice then I looked at a floetry vid and I was like oh duh.

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2013 at 8:57 PM #

      She is heavenly.

      Floetry is nice to listen to but that’s it.

      • mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 12:21 AM #

        rofl what u trying to say jesus? are u trying to say floetry is best to be heard not seen? lol, there are some artists that are like that though the song is great but then u see the vid to the song and are like wtf it is like seeing a pic of a fine body with an ugly face.

        • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 5:55 AM #

          “A fine body and ugly face” LOL something like that.

  9. mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 8:08 PM #

    oh and u forgot tamia hmm love her

  10. mstoogood4yall November 10, 2013 at 8:21 PM #

    debroah cox – nobody’s supposed to be here

  11. mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 12:35 AM #

    I like keke wyatt a bit and chrisette michell. I like tiffany evans version of let me be your angel as well as the original one sung by Stacey lattisaw.

    • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 5:57 AM #

      Look at that youngun trying to be a music lover. I like it sis. You keep that and you’ll restore my faith in this generation.

  12. mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 12:40 AM #

    I just don’t know how we don’t see young kid artists like that can sang anymore, I mean dang I hear some of the kids that could sing from the 80’s to early 2000’s and they would blow all of these clowns *cough beyonce *cough* rhianna* out of the water. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jcwcy_Djlr4

  13. mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 12:41 AM #

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ePuoypNu1M the original.

  14. mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 12:51 AM #

    wow I just figured out amel larrieux was the woman on that groove theory’s song I love called tell me , now how did I not know smh.

  15. Kushite Prince November 11, 2013 at 2:45 PM #

    @Jesus
    You dated Goapele?? What a coincidence! I used to go out with Amel. But I had to call it off when I met Valerie June!lol
    Amel was out here about two years ago at a jazz festival. Some friends of mine went to the event. But they told me about it too late. So just like you I was on the plantation. Hopefully she’ll come to the west coast again soon. I’ve chatted with Amel on Twitter. I can’t tell you what a honor that was. She even followed me back on Twitter. She’s seems like a very down to earth woman. Her husband is a very lucky man.

    • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 2:52 PM #

      Yeah man, Goapele and I met about two years ago at a party and she wouldn’t stop following me around. So final I just said, look give me your number and I’ll give you a call. So I called we talked–she cool–we hooked up–didn’t work–she stalked–I got a restraining order–she wrote closer. Yup. That’s how it went down.

      HA!!

      • Kushite Prince November 11, 2013 at 3:11 PM #

        Wow! Really? I’m sorry to hear things didn’t work out. So….can I get her number?lol

        • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 3:43 PM #

          That okay man, but I’ll give you number if I can find it.

  16. mstoogood4yall November 11, 2013 at 4:34 PM #

    since u talking about the uk I’m digging this song by iyeoka I came across her yesterday I like the beat to it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Pes54J8PVw

    • hunglikejesus November 11, 2013 at 6:22 PM #

      I could get so deep into the UK vocalist, but I just don’t have time right now, but I may do a post on just them.

      Google Caron Wheeler and her album UK Blak.

      • mstoogood4yall November 12, 2013 at 3:49 PM #

        oh she was in soul 2 soul I loved that song back to life I didn’t know they were from across the pond rofl.

  17. mary burrell November 11, 2013 at 8:13 PM #

    Lelah James is a force of nature, and “Tell Me By Groove Theory” always made me feel frisky, “HEHE”

  18. mstoogood4yall November 12, 2013 at 3:50 PM #

    oh i’ll add very special by debra laws love that too.

  19. mstoogood4yall November 12, 2013 at 3:59 PM #

    Heather headley – in my mind & I wish I wasn’t, Angie stone – wish I didn’t miss you , tracy chapman -give me one reason heard her on new York undercover I remember the artists singing on there at the end of the show.

  20. No Black Pete November 16, 2013 at 5:30 PM #

    I had trouble getting Drake’s Closer to My Dreams, out of my head. Goapele did a good job on that one.

    • hunglikejesus November 16, 2013 at 9:41 PM #

      Have not one clue what a Drake song sounds like.

      • No Black Pete November 17, 2013 at 4:36 AM #

        Check it out. Otherwise my comment will make no sense.

        • hunglikejesus November 17, 2013 at 5:53 AM #

          I may bite the bullet, swallow hard and subject myself to the mainstream.

Leave a Reply

