The Other Half

29 Oct

Image

NINA SAYS:

“birds flyin’ high you know how I feel,

sun in the sky you know how I feel,

breeze driftin’ on by you know how I feel.”

No milk this morning, long months coming and baby needs shoes. A meal without milk won’t kill us and may even save us.

Stretch and make do is a way of life for this half.

We can’t sit and wait for love and light to come and find us, ways need to be made, and a ditch somewhere needs diggin’.

On mornings when our breath is visible, and our feet have left us for some other place, and our back haven’t straightened out completely are mornings we shine the brightest.

This half has very few choices and our options are not options, but one last chance to make it through another day.

Long nights when sleep can’t find us, and our minds can’t find rest are the times that make us human. So baby can rest and make it to another day.

Stark days when all our pockets have holes and the heat man can’t hear us nor comprehend our words. Baby cold.

This half don’t have many things and many things don’t have us. We dream shiny dreams and daylight always brings us back to, baby needs.

Our tears have long since dried, and our hands are callused, our shoes are worn thin. We are slow to get up because the sitting down is a long time away.

Through dried tears and callused hands, the worn shoes, and the slow bones we keep our tender hearts………………cause baby needs tender hearts. Most of all.

9 Responses to “The Other Half”

  1. mary burrell October 29, 2013 at 9:15 PM #

    with the food stamps being cut. This piece seems to go with what is happening in the government in this country, many babies will not have milk. The poor and disenfranchised will suffer.

    • hunglikejesus October 30, 2013 at 5:53 AM #

      My aim was to Spotlight the ones of us who have very little and still thrive and support families. Times aren’t getting better for a lot and no relief is on the horizon.

      Thank you for stopping by Ms. Mary.

  2. Jeff Nguyen October 29, 2013 at 9:30 PM #

    The government mixes sweet words with bitter poison. Nina Simone is a national treasure.

    • hunglikejesus October 30, 2013 at 5:55 AM #

      Nina is mother and has been since I couldn’t walk. My spiritual mother of course but mother none the less.

      The government is a backward system that needs ending in the largest sense.

      Thank you for coming over Jeff.

  3. mstoogood4yall October 30, 2013 at 7:01 PM #

    beautiful song, writing, and baby. He is too cute his eyes are so big and just seem to look through u.

    • hunglikejesus October 30, 2013 at 7:04 PM #

      I don’t even know if that baby is a boy or not but thank you my young sis.

      Where you been hiding?

      • mstoogood4yall October 30, 2013 at 7:07 PM #

        I do think it is a boy if not my eyes are messed up lol. I haven’t been hiding maybe lurking but never hiding rofl. Yes I changed my avatar I will keep this one for a while.

        • hunglikejesus October 30, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

          I lurk sometimes myself. It’s cool just don’t spill nothing while lurking.

          I looked at that photo again and I still say with all certainty that it’s a little boy, but women know these thing a little then men, I assume.

    • hunglikejesus October 30, 2013 at 7:05 PM #

      I see you changed your avatar as well

Leave a Reply

