they can’t see me

27 Oct

 

height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]Image

i’m not a man but i can impersonate one.

i came up with the chickens and they moved on to nourish, i came up with the insects, and they sprouted wings and flew away. i watched the seeds take root and bare fruit.

but here i sit not able nourish, not able to fly away nor take root and bare fruit.

they can’t see me because their minds can’t override their beliefs.

ironclad thought patterns are dangerous, and words need not be spoken, i am condemned, relegated to the bottom of the ship.

they can’t see me, but they project me.

i’m just another one, vaguely familiar and strangely contorted.

my achievements are reduced to nothing much, my heights are flush with the ground.

i have one emotion, and that is searing hate.

i am a monster with dreams of becoming a monstrosity.

i can see through my eyelids.

i hate the sun that gives light that makes life.

hot poison travels though my veins in search of release.

i hate the man, woman and child before they hate me.

with development now arrested i am part animal, their vision now realty.

i won’t take my bow until this Earth is petrified, and they see me.

 

This one is for No Black Pete’s piece in the comment section.

 

18 Responses to “they can’t see me”

  1. diaryofanegress October 27, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

    This is by far the most poignant post you’ve ever written.

    • hunglikejesus October 28, 2013 at 6:18 PM #

      Thank you very kindly sista, I have always looked forward to your assessment of my efforts. Though my musical taste my leave you wondering just what the hell I’m thinking.

      This piece come out of me after reading about the young man who held after buying something out of Barney’s. I can say a lot on his actual purchase, but that would be conflation and beside the point. It just made me think; you know these people don’t see us until they do, and when they do it’s really never good. And all that does is create hate and anger that’s gonna need a release and so often that release is not on the enemy, but on one of our very own. But of course it’s meant to be that way………of course.

  2. No Black Pete October 28, 2013 at 7:19 AM #

    Dang. I saw the title and was ready to reply in kind. But, that pic irks me to no end. I cannot stand blackface anyhow, but these old school pics stop me cold. Gee whiz.

    “I have dark emotions sealing off the pathways from
    the flow of healthy feelings about racism these days.
    The world finally awakens to the racism of the German
    Dutch and in utter confusion state that we have no guts.
    Tell the children that mental slavery is the rule, but not
    those in Mali and Sudan they remain a physical tool.
    They do not want to see me, as if they can see anything
    at all, they do not see themselves caught in the fall.
    To be in esteem of something that is dead, pretending
    they are gods, is an insanity void of any gloss.”

    Sigh. Mofo sigh.

    • hunglikejesus October 28, 2013 at 8:35 AM #

      I hate blackface more than anyone, but no other way to not be not seen than to be seen in perpetual blackface.

      As far as the piece goes, I’m speechless. The perspective uniquely European in my estimation but universal to all oppressed peoples. I greatly appreciate you leaving that here. Thank you so much.

      • No Black Pete October 28, 2013 at 3:38 PM #

        I see your point. They see Black Pete, because they know that he is white. Hence the shock when Black people put on blackface.

        Thanks for the props on the improv. I was just wondering what music you would put to it. It cannot be worse than what I had in mind. Something with nails and flesh.

        Never mind. Not being able to get back to Paris has put me in a foul mood.

        • hunglikejesus October 28, 2013 at 6:34 PM #

          I thought Paris was a beast?

          Anyway, you interpretation is just fine, and, your take on my thoughts. I respect that greatly.

          I usually have a sound in mind by the time I make it to the end of the piece so here’s what hit me as soon as I started reading your piece. Okay, so they won’t let me put it in the comment section so it’s up under the song for this piece.

          • No Black Pete October 29, 2013 at 7:01 AM #

            Paris is a bad beast, indeed. I am glad to see that you have been paying attention.

            That song is head on for the post I am putting up right now. Dang. I guess I am making this too easy for you…Or I need to start calling you Je-Sun.

            Let me see if I can figure out this sound cloud thing, and put it up. I will give it five minutes…

            Much appreciated. Peace.

            • hunglikejesus October 29, 2013 at 5:20 PM #

              I was in Paris once and I found it really tight and extremely foreign for Mercian taste. I was young and took in none of touristy spots but roamed the streets trying very hard to get lost. I had two weeks.

              Soundcloud is really easy, they even have wordpress’s very own coding.

              You can me whatever you like just don’t call me too late or too early.

              • No Black Pete October 29, 2013 at 5:53 PM #

                It is easy. I spotted the codes within two seconds. But, it did not work. Anyone even remotely interested will have to take a look at your post.

                “You can me whatever you like”?

                • hunglikejesus October 29, 2013 at 5:58 PM #

                  “You call me whatever you like, just don’t call me too late or too early”

                  Sorry. It’s seems I need the ad of glasses and some will be soon at hand. When I’m looking at any monitor for more than ten minutes I get morning eyes and I’m just guessing at what I “see and read”. Yeah, it’s bad for me in my old age. Not enough sleeps makes me almost blind as well, though that may be laziness.

                  • No Black Pete October 29, 2013 at 6:03 PM #

                    No problem old man. Even though things turn into this weird guessing game. Hmmm. I better put away that “can” of whoop ass.

                    Peace.

                    • hunglikejesus October 29, 2013 at 6:04 PM #

                      I would really appreciate you putting away that can of whoop ass. My donkey can’t take no more whoop ass.

                    • No Black Pete October 29, 2013 at 6:10 PM #

                      LOL!!!

                      Your donkey is save from me.

  3. moorbey October 28, 2013 at 3:03 PM #

    congratz i have nominated ur blog 4 an award check it out http://moorbey.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=14206&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

  4. TrojanPam October 28, 2013 at 5:59 PM #

    thought provoking!

    • stuartbramhall October 28, 2013 at 8:55 PM #

      An understatement. A comment you made on ashiftinconsciousness inspired me to check out your blog. I think your work is pretty amazing.

      • hunglikejesus October 28, 2013 at 8:57 PM #

        Well, that wasn’t my goal if I had any. But thank you for exploring rather than blindly attacking. That is definitely a sign of an intelligent person or at least a person wanting to be better.

        Again, thank you.

Leave a Reply

