Just In Case You Forgot.

12 Oct

I was doing my daily headline scan and newsletter reading, you know, the stuff we who still have some kinda brain do. I really enjoy doing this as I am info junkie and I will read just about anything. 

Anyway, MSN is my home page because I like the way it’s formatted and mainly I’m just used to it. I don’t take kindly to change so, yeah. I was over at MSN doing what I do when came across an interesting piece on the superrich. I guess regular rich won’t cut it anymore; just when I was on my way to being rich they flip it on me. So the article went on about how they have these towns were rich people live and play and spend obscene amounts of money on shit that will not help one other person accept another rich person. Things like yachts and cars and drugs no doubt (I added the drugs part). They had stock photos to accompany each town they talked about. So I’m just clicking away and cursing all of them straight to hell until I came across this photo:

Saratoga Springs, N.Y. (© Fasig-Tipton)

I did a quick scan and saw the usual suspects, and as I was about to click and move on something caught my eye. This photo to me is a microcosm of this country and probably the world. What did I see you ask? Look to the far left corner of the room, do you see him? Yes. The only Black face in the room that we can see, and he’s there to shovel shit. James Baldwin would have a field day on this one.

Peasssss 

11 Responses to “Just In Case You Forgot.”

  1. Jeff Nguyen October 12, 2013 at 1:47 PM #

    Good eye, hlj.

  2. mstoogood4yall October 12, 2013 at 3:43 PM #

    he looks like a butler for the horse smh. so they auctioning off the horse wonder if they’ll include him as well smh.

    • hunglikejesus October 12, 2013 at 5:56 PM #

      He might be included in the sale. I guess it’s honest work, so you can’t knock him for that. But it does look like something from Gone With The Wind.

      • mstoogood4yall October 12, 2013 at 5:59 PM #

        ugh gone with the wind was horrible I couldn’t watch much of it before I turned it off. the part when the black kids were fanning them ugh and the part when the black men were like don’t worry we’ll stop the Yankees we digging for the south, blech and the mammy character smh.

  3. mary burrell October 13, 2013 at 6:05 PM #

    Dang, They got the black man in the corner with a shovel in a damn suit, that is a truly shaking my head moment.

    • hunglikejesus October 13, 2013 at 6:09 PM #

      If I would have told you about it you probably wouldn’t even believe it.

  4. mary burrell October 13, 2013 at 6:06 PM #

    Jesus, the poor man probably has a family to support.

    • hunglikejesus October 13, 2013 at 6:33 PM #

      I know and I’m not knocking him at all. What I’m talking about is the fact that in 2013 and that photo could have come out of the 10’s 20’s 30’s 40’s 50’s 60’s 70’s.

  5. TrojanPam October 13, 2013 at 8:02 PM #

    Can’t say I’m surprised. We are headed for very revisionist times when we blacks knew our place — but most are in denial that this can happen

Leave a Reply

