Video

This is FKA Twigs

10 Aug

Is this the future of R&B? I hope so.

“he told me I was so small, I told him water me”

47 Responses to “This is FKA Twigs”

  1. Kushite Prince August 11, 2013 at 3:15 PM #

    She definitely has a very unique sound. Kind of like if Bjork was doing R&B.lol Well she is cute and has a very soothing voice. I did a little research on her. I see she’s from the UK. I found her on Bandcamp.com. She’s got some pretty nice songs and she’s cute in a “babydoll” kind of way.lol

    • hunglikejesus August 11, 2013 at 3:35 PM #

      LOL!!

      I know my musical taste is beyond what most (Black people) would consider normal, so I appreciate your effort.

      I’ve been a fan of hers for a little while now. And yes, she’s from the UK where–I think–the most innovative music is coming from, and that’s is no doubt due to the Black infusion.

      Also, think you should know that the woman in the video is the artist known as Twigs, but it was mostly CG.

      And do think Bjork was an influence on her.

      • Kushite Prince August 11, 2013 at 3:48 PM #

        WTF?!! That’s not a real person? Damn computer generation! You don’t know what the hell you’re looking at these days.lol I assume you mean it was a mixture of both real and CG right?
        She does sound like a hip-hop Bjork a bit. I date a sista about ten years ago that was into Bjork. She turned me on to her because I had never heard of her. Bjork is definitely different and has her own sound. But I did like some of her songs. Funny you bring her up because she was just out here in concert a few weeks ago. She must have a very loyal fan base because I believe it a sold out show.

        • hunglikejesus August 11, 2013 at 4:44 PM #

          LOL!

          It was little bit CG at the beginning, but most toward the end when her eyes got scary big.

          I had a sista turn me on to bjork sometime ago as well. Though I can’t get into a lot of her music, some I can’t do without. I have such a crazy collection of music. About 32G on external and about 20G on internal, it’s what I do.

          Bjork shows will always sellout because she has zero competition.

  2. Kushite Prince August 11, 2013 at 3:27 PM #

    Here’s the link:
    http://twigstwigs.bandcamp.com/

  3. mary burrell August 11, 2013 at 11:58 PM #

    Reminds me of Bjork. I wonder if Bjork influenced her?

  4. mstoogood4yall August 13, 2013 at 3:02 AM #

    what is that a real person or not it look like an android or something. she’s from the uk, u know it seems that is where the good music is coming from nowadays. Whites in the uk take note of what we do here and learn how to improve. She creeps me out though, i will probably have a weird dream tonight. oh shoot im officially creeped out when her eyes got bigger.

  5. hunglikejesus August 13, 2013 at 6:11 AM #

    LOL!!

    It’s a rea personl with some CG effects added. I love this “new” artist and I look forward to her new music. And yes, the UK is where the baddest music is coming from. Most of my playlist features music out of the UK. If you want some good picks let me know and I hook you up. My taste however, is not mainstream is the least.

    Also, the reason UK is so dope is because of the Black influence. This started back in the 50’s when they sent for slaves, excuse me, Black people from the islands to rebuild after the war. I just watched a documentary on YouTube recently that showed the influence of our people. I’ll post it when I find it again.

    • mstoogood4yall August 13, 2013 at 4:36 PM #

      ok. lol. the only artists I kinda like from the uk so far is a little adele and dale and craig david. if there are any good ones u know then yes post them.

      • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 1:10 PM #

        I guess I should have been more clear. I mean music producers. I’ve been producing for years now, and I guess that’s the company I keep. Mostly in the electronic genre. I have posted several songs from some of my faves to accompany some of my writings. Now if you wanna get hip to some seriously progressive producers then stick with me.
        Here are three that I’m really feelin’ right now.


        • Kushite Prince August 15, 2013 at 1:50 PM #

          I didn’t know you were a producer. That’s real cool! Most producers are very creative. Maybe that’s why you come up with great topics on your blog.
          I like those two videos. They have a nice mellow vibe to them. I really like the Cloudsfall video.

          • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 8:28 PM #

            Yeah…….I picked it up as a way of dealing with my depression and I’ve been at it every since. I have a couple of tracks that play over in the UK club scene and a few bouncing around over here. I try to keep it a hobby as to not make it work. When something turns into work it loses it’s joy. For me anyway.

            I have a few of my tracks posted on this blog under different names, now see if you can find them. LOL!!

            Here another banger from Stumbleine my favorite music maker at the moment:

        • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 2:41 AM #

          that sounds nice. i really like the last vid it sounds like something I could relax to. I like the instrumentals that have a little vocals added even if i can’t understand what they saying lol. I also like the stuyvesants the beats they make reminds me of old school music. http://thestuyvesants.com/

          • hunglikejesus August 17, 2013 at 1:10 PM #

            I have some of The Stuyvesants tracks on my hard drive. They take me back to when I was a little boy. The link you sent is so dope, thank you very much sista, and those photos, I could lose myself in them.

            Thank you so much for the link again, now I got some work to do. I think I wanna remix a few of The Stuyvesants tracks. I might post them when I’m done.

  6. mary burrell August 13, 2013 at 9:03 PM #

    Jesus, you need to check out this sister Concha Buika. She is from Spain. She is awesome. don’t know how to send links. But check her out.

    • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 8:31 PM #

      Hey Ms. Mary, I checked out the sista Concha Buika and I must tell you that she’s not for me. First, I love lyrics, and she speaks in a tongue I can’t understand so that mostly killed it for me. I also I’m kinda of a music snob and a purest and her sound didn’t fit in with my craziness.

      Thank you though.

  7. hunglikejesus August 14, 2013 at 7:00 AM #

    I will check her out. Thank you sis.

  8. Kushite Prince August 15, 2013 at 1:38 PM #

    Since we’re on the subject of what is not considered “conventional black music” are you guys familiar with Valerie June? A friend told me about her last year. He said she was a black country singer. She’s really talented and a beautiful sista. She definitely doesn’t sound the way you would think considering her appearance.
    Her sound is more of a bluegrass/folk sound to me. But I really like this song! It has a nice bluesy vibe to it.

    • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 2:06 PM #

      LOL!! I’m diggin’ this and will be checking for this sista.

      You know, everytime I hear those slide guitars like at the beginning of this video, it always reminds me of some movie. Especially some movie where Black people are down trodden and heavy laden,

      Thank you your highness, I’m gonna go see about Valerie June.

      • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 2:11 PM #

        Love this too.

        • Kushite Prince August 15, 2013 at 2:34 PM #

          Oh yeah! That’s her new joint! Great song! I think she’s going to be a big sensation. I hope black folks support her. What do you think?

          • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 8:36 PM #

            If she has a Black following it’ll just be a small one. We as Black people have been taught to like a certain type of music, and we mostly stick to that. And ultimately that has been away to braintrash a huge section of folk.

            I just went over and bought her new CD. I know I could probably get it free somewhere online, but I think it’s very important to support the artist we like. Like you said.

            Thank you for the intro, I’m always seeking new sounds.

        • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 8:18 PM #

          she sounds amazing, kinda reminds me of blues.

      • Kushite Prince August 15, 2013 at 2:19 PM #

        Do you remember John Forte? he produced some songs on the Fugees album The Score. He went to jail for a few years but he’s been out for awhile. Anyway he has a song with Valerie. This is a HOT joint right here! Don’t sleep on this sista! I guess I’m going to have to get her cd now!lol

        • hunglikejesus August 15, 2013 at 8:42 PM #

          Yeah hahahahahaha I just bought this one. She has what I would call a Rockabilly sound.

          I remember this dude. He got lock up for trafficking cocaine. Glad he’s back.

          Sista sexy as hell.

          • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 2:42 AM #

            bhahah rockabilly. yeah that is the best way to describe it kinda reminds me of someone that sounds tired

            • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 2:51 AM #

              I kinda like this woman too http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRCMApy0688

              • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 2:59 AM #

                • hunglikejesus August 17, 2013 at 1:26 PM #

                  They got that damnable slide guitar in there that always reminds me of Black folk getting hung and the klan. But I’ll over look it, I really like seeing her do country. You know when we touch something we take over?

                  • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 8:17 PM #

                    yep we sure do take over, lol better keep us away from nascar and hockey rofl

                    • hunglikejesus August 17, 2013 at 9:07 PM #

                      They have some Black people in both, but for the most part we stay away from those things. There’s a race car driver (F1) in the UK who is semi-Black who’s been dominating for a little while now. His name is Hamilton.

                • Kushite Prince August 17, 2013 at 2:32 PM #

                  I remember when Rissi came out back in 2007. She has a pretty good voice. I remember seeing this video of her on the Travel channel three years ago. It shows her hanging out with her friends at her home. I noticed she didn’t have any black female friends. And I also believe her husband is an “anti-human”. Hmmm……this is sad to see. I’m not taking anything away from her talent at all. As I said she has a great voice. But I think she grew up in Nashville around a lot of white folks. When that happens a black person usually becomes pretty whitewashed and doesn’t really connect to their black identity. Which is probably why she’s into country in the first place.. Although truthfully country music has it’s origins in bluegrass. But then again rock &roll, hip hop,jazz and most pop music comes from blues.Yep that’s right,black folks created it all.lol I say all this to say I just hate seeing our people identify with white folks so much. It’s kind of depressing at times. I just pray to God that Valerie June is not into white boys. If so,all hope is lost.lol Now that I think about it—I think my buddy told me she was divorced. I’ll be back! I got a little research to do!
                  Here’s the video :

                  • mstoogood4yall August 17, 2013 at 8:15 PM #

                    hmm, yep they usually just have white friends. But at the same time it seems its only a small amount of black ppl that would be open to things like this. I’m not a country fan, but I do find myself liking some of the songs, same thing with rock. That is ok because rock and country were influenced by us so technically we had a major role in it being created, so it is black music as well.

                    • Kushite Prince August 18, 2013 at 2:45 PM #

                      That’s true sis. Once they get that white identity it’s hard for then to come back home. But let’s hope she comes to her senses in due time.lol But you’re right though,we created most of the popular music people listen to today.

                  • hunglikejesus August 17, 2013 at 9:15 PM #

                    Come on Prince…..you just crushed me with this one. This is gone man, you can forget about her coming back home. There are probably NO Black men she’s around regularly and if they are around they are white identified as well. But that’s not my biggest concern for this lovely sister. She looks a bit butchy to me seeing her move. So all them female she’s hanging around, yeah, they doing more then just hanging around.

                    Also, have you ever noticed that Black people who are white identified are really, really anti-Black? I mean even hostile toward Black folk.

                    Oh well, we still have plenty of other women out here that know the time. I need to find me one.

                    DAMN SHAME!!!

                    • Kushite Prince August 18, 2013 at 2:55 PM #

                      You think she’s taking the lesbian route??lol I don’t know could be. But I know see your point about them being anti-black. I used to work with this black man that grew up in Huntington Beach. Which is an upscale white neighborhood In Cali. I think the black population is something like 0.9%.lol Anyway he was into the beach crowd,surfing and skateboarding and all that stuff. he also told me he didn’t relate to the “black experience”. And he only dated white girls. This brother was truly lost.lol But what can you expect when you grow up in a area that’s 90% white and your black parents are buppies that teach you nothing about black or African history.
                      So I let you down with the news about Rissi. But I will redeem myself by introducing you to Haeley Vaughn.She was on American Idol back in 2010. She’s a beautiful dark skinned with dimples. She was only sixteen in this video. She’s about 19 or 20 now. I think she was really talented but I don’t think they knew what to do with a black country singer. She was eventually voted off the show. I would rather listen to her than that pasty-looking Taylor Swift.lol Check out the video,she has a great voice!

                    • Kushite Prince August 18, 2013 at 3:07 PM #

                      @Jesus
                      Semi-black??LOL!!! That’s a good one! I may have to steal that one from you. The racecar driver you’re speaking of is lewis Hamilton. I’ve seen him in a few interviews. He gives off a “Tiger Woods” kind of vibe. You know,”I’m not really black” type of thing. I could be wrong.

              • hunglikejesus August 17, 2013 at 1:23 PM #

                I think I may have to start listening to country music now. I used to listen to it when I was little at my grandparent’s, but not since. I didn’t know Black people was representing like that. Ms. Palmer is a beautiful woman as well.

                Thank you one more sis for keeping me hip.

            • hunglikejesus August 17, 2013 at 1:17 PM #

              Rockabilly is what them crackers stole from Black people down in the delta and such. But what haven’t they stolen?.

          • Kushite Prince August 17, 2013 at 1:16 PM #

            She’s my new crush at the moment. You better back off Jesus!lol

  9. mary burrell August 16, 2013 at 8:33 PM #

    I do like Valerie June.

  10. hunglikejesus August 18, 2013 at 8:14 PM #

    @Prince Nah!! She has that I ain’t Black vibe as well. Nice try though. And Yes Lewis Hamilton is another Tiger Woods.

Leave a Reply

