to prepare a place

9 Aug

 

Image

 

I looked for you last night, where did you go? 

Did you think that closed eyes and cold flesh would fool me? 

You went to prepare a place for me and hoped that I didn’t come to soon didn’t you? 

I still hear your voices sparkling in my head, and I turn to check on you, for nothing.

My sleep is peppered with frustrating emotions of you having left to prepare a place for me. I don’t sleep well.

Was that you messaging my heart when definition escaped me? Did you say stand back and let pops handle it?

Was that you that stood behind me when my fears confronted me and my weakness showed?

You said you would never leave me with the moon and the stars as the tide turned and the night air chilled.

I told you being alone made my tears flow enough to quench the dry Earth you now call home.

You can get up now, closed eyes and cold flesh don’t fool me, I’m ready for my place.     

10 Responses to “to prepare a place”

  1. mary burrell August 9, 2013 at 3:06 PM #

    I love these words. It is similar to what I am going through with my mother’s passing. I have dreams about her these days, I think this is part of the grieving process. I think you should keep sharing. I think writing is cathartic.

    • hunglikejesus August 9, 2013 at 5:03 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Mary. My heart is so broken now. Just when I think I’m good to go a thought will bring me back to the reality that my father no longer walks with me in the physical. Man, do I miss him dearly.

      I’m sorry about your mother, when did she pass? Are you doing better or is it still difficult? We shall heal together.

  2. mary burrell August 9, 2013 at 6:59 PM #

    My sweetheart, passed on April 5, 2013. Alzheimers. I still dream about here. I am still sad sometimes. I can sympathize with you. Your father was a generous man. You have much to be proud of.

    • hunglikejesus August 9, 2013 at 10:06 PM #

      I’m truly sorry Ms. Mary, Alzheimers as I understand it is a very cruel disease. My ex’s mother suffers, but only after we broke up did she get diagnosed. I’m truly sorry again.

  3. mary burrell August 9, 2013 at 7:00 PM #

    We will heal together, my brother.

    • hunglikejesus August 9, 2013 at 10:07 PM #

      Yes ma’am, well shall. Here… let me hold your hand.

  4. Jeff Nguyen August 9, 2013 at 9:05 PM #

    I have nothing to say that won’t sound trite, so simply, peace to you.

  5. mstoogood4yall August 9, 2013 at 9:54 PM #

    I like it, the music the, picture, and the writing. sorry for your loss hunglikejesus and ms mary. I wish u both peace.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. to prepare a place | Kemetix - August 11, 2013

    […] to prepare a place […]

Leave a Reply

