I’m sorry.

29 Jun

The piece; More Days Behind Me Than In Front [for my father], was supposed to be from my father’s point of view. He was a relatively active man; my father was an activist and ran a charity, now he’s on his back all day. I was (badly) trying to speak for him and let the people around him know that he’s okay and ready for the next step in this journey. It was not about me getting ready to kill myself, as some may have rightfully believed. I’m truly sorry for that mistake and I’ll try and be a better conyer of my thoughts. If, that’s what you were thinking. 

Thank you. 

Meet my father: 

 

14 Responses to “I’m sorry.”

  1. mary burrell June 29, 2013 at 6:54 PM #

    You’re father is handsome, and your mother is a queenly woman. You come from good blood.

  2. diaryofanegress June 29, 2013 at 7:35 PM #

    Jesus

    Your father is quite a good looking man. I can see where you get your looks.

    • hunglikejesus June 29, 2013 at 7:37 PM #

      Thank you sis. Hey? How do you know how I look?

  3. Jeff Nguyen June 29, 2013 at 7:43 PM #

    It sounds like your father has led by example, what a real role model does. Best to you and your family.

    • hunglikejesus June 29, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

      Thank you sir. Yeah, he’s been leading me for a while now and now it’s my turn to hold his hand.

      • Sandra June 30, 2013 at 1:18 AM #

        Yes, in turns and in times. You ask us to meet him through well-chosen photos; I wish I could indeed meet him. I suppose it is what I do, this following through. So much seen and heard and kept.

        • hunglikejesus June 30, 2013 at 5:55 AM #

          Thank you for well chosen words. My father is a lover of people, I think you two would get along fine.

          Thank you again.

  4. honeytreebee June 30, 2013 at 4:44 AM #

    Hi, Jesus
    Love you had me concerned there for a minute. Your dad is a handsome man and Negress is right you come from very fine looking people full of noble grace and quite majesty. What a kind heart he has… we sure do need more like him in the world. Thank you so much for sharing the honor of meeting your father Jesus.

    • hunglikejesus June 30, 2013 at 5:53 AM #

      Thank you Sista.

      I have to realize that not everyone lives in my head with me. I take for granted that people will automatically understand where I’m coming from.

      Again, thank you so much for stopping by.

  5. Kushite Prince June 30, 2013 at 3:50 PM #

    Nice post! It’s always good to show respect to your pops. A lot of times fathers get overlooked in comparison to mothers. Your father looks good though. Keep you spirits up man. Much respect to you and your family. Peace.

    • hunglikejesus June 30, 2013 at 4:38 PM #

      Thank you sir. This post was just supposed to be a correction to the previous post, but it turned out to be more than that.

      My father is not him old self, but he’s coming along. I can’t get up there to see them as much as I would like because of work and things like that. But again, I thank you for the kind words.

  6. No Black Pete July 1, 2013 at 5:41 PM #

    Great ode. I do not meddle in family stuff, but this shows some proper respect. So, I got to give you some proper respect. You tried to see life from his eyes. So very few people even know life from their own eyes. On top of that, you showed respect while he IS still around. Well done.

    • hunglikejesus July 1, 2013 at 6:04 PM #

      Thank you so much for that.

      It was so hard writing that initial piece and I was doing it in public. Me being a sensitive person, crying is something I have no problem with. But being a grown man and also being sensitive in public–on top of being Black–that is highly misunstood. But such is life and I is what I is.

      Again, thank you very kindly.

Leave a Reply

