More Days Behind Me Than In Front [For My Father]

28 Jun

I can sit back now, and hope that my blessings outweigh my sins.

I know the gates won’t swing open, but the gates will open.

As my voice grows weak, listen for my good deeds.

My sight has become soft, but I will never lose sight of the ones that loved me. 

I no longer stand tall, but I have reached the top of my existence here and my heart is full and my light strong. 

As my journey wraps up and my wake settles, I can now see my destination, I can see the ones that wait for me. 

I will allow my rest to consume me, as my shadow grows long it soon will blend with the night, this life will conclude.

If I have wronged you, please know that my spirit begs for your forgiveness, and be at peace.

The ones who couldn’t come on this trip, we shall travel together again.

I’m not leaving you, but simply going ahead.

Until next time, let your blessings outweigh your sins.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This was hard. Love somebody.  

3 Responses to “More Days Behind Me Than In Front [For My Father]”

  1. TrojanPam June 29, 2013 at 6:19 PM #

    very heartfelt

    these are very tough times for blacks who see and who care about our people. The frustration can get to you and increase our anti-blackness so on those times we need to vent we should vent

    get some rest and take on another day and try to accomplish something we think is important

    that’s all we can do

  2. Robyn July 13, 2013 at 2:02 AM #

    These are very beautiful words….

    • hunglikejesus July 13, 2013 at 11:30 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Robyn, it means a lot coming from you.

Leave a Reply

