We Need To Be Ashamed Of Our Confused Selves.

27 Jun

I once sat where this young lady sits right now. Not on the witness stand, but in front of the piercing eyes of judgement. I was also nervous and my Black skin was a curse or so I was made to believe. I was uncomfortable and angry and I just wanted to not be nowhere. That was a lot of years ago and from what I have been reading about Ms. Rachel Jeantel, ain’t shit changed. She is doing a good thing, but the people that at look her choose to remain superficial and childish, much like the way we they have been trained.

I did a Google search of Ms. Jeantel and I was almost brought to tears from the absolute bullshit I was reading. I thought about putting some of those comments here, but it would serve no purpose, you have all seen and read them. So now this young lady, trying to do the right thing will have her self-esteem buried right along side the person she’s trying to defend.

I often say, “when you know better, you do better”, I’m starting to think we don’t know any better. Unless Love and Hip Hop breaks for a commercial we remain in a childlike state of drooling and looking for something to smoke or eat. This was suppose to be the year, “I should heal”, but it looks like I’ll be stuck at “my heart remains broken”.

12 Responses to “We Need To Be Ashamed Of Our Confused Selves.”

  1. TrojanPam June 28, 2013 at 2:32 AM #

    I agree. We have got to start addressing this rampant anti-blackness asap. I don’t think most black people understand just how much we do it.

    I catch myself doing it all the time, because it’s so frustrating to watch and deal with other victims. I don’t think we can have a counter-racism movement OR accomplish any real goals until we reduce this anti-blackness among us.

    • hunglikejesus June 28, 2013 at 7:23 AM #

      I catch myself hating as well and convince myself that it’s justified for whatever reason. It’s a mental illness, it has taken up residence in us all and for some, the only thing will remove it is a shotgun. Of course that’s just a little dramatic and I don’t really mean that, but something has to be done. It starts with me and I now take the challenge.

  2. Sandra June 28, 2013 at 3:34 AM #

    I haven’t commented; hadn’t intended to until something needed saying.

    I suppose I need to spread a word.

    • hunglikejesus June 28, 2013 at 7:29 AM #

      Thank you for saying anything. It seems like the only news we have is bad. The reason we get up in the morning is to oppress. The sun won’t shine unless the force of bad attitudes forces it high. The world will just stop turning if mean, self absorbed, beings are not there to power the rotatation. I am tired.

      • Sandra June 30, 2013 at 1:07 AM #

        I too am tired. Conscience seems always to have been a heavy term. Once we are inducted into conscientiousness, it is a life term.

  3. No Black Pete June 28, 2013 at 10:44 AM #

    I just peeped out from under my rock for a minute. Or they trying to set the “white-Hispanic” (what does that mean?!) murderer free, by using a Black woman as a scapegoat? How original. I do not want to hear anymore about it until I see that letter.

    • hunglikejesus June 28, 2013 at 11:00 AM #

      Yeah, they grilled that young lady like SHE killed someone, as per the plantation.

    • hunglikejesus June 28, 2013 at 11:02 AM #

      Oh! It can be awfully dangerous peeking from under ones rock. You shouldn’t do it to often. You won’t miss a thing.

      • No Black Pete June 28, 2013 at 12:10 PM #

        Agreed. I have watched part of DeeDee-Diamond-Eugene-Jeantel’s testimony, and I had enough. I am crawling back under my rock. Peace.

  4. CREE-EIGHT June 28, 2013 at 4:00 PM #

    I’ve no time or energy left for black people who are THAT far gone. It’s one thing to catch one’s self thinking it, but when no plug is pulled before it’s said and no effort is undertaken to turn off the thoughts, we’re talking about a person whose self-protection mechanism has been removed. And, it might be genetic modification from generations of abuse in many black people. Regardless, “ain’t nobody got time for that”. Hey, mentally ill people and/or deficient people are not to blame for the harm they cause to others but when they do, they are to be avoided and, if possible, restrained.

    • hunglikejesus June 28, 2013 at 4:08 PM #

      Ms. CREE I know you’re serious, but that last line cracked me up. I so need to be restrained…and medicated. LOL!!

      Thank you, I needed that chuckle as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Confused Selves | A Layering of Perception - June 28, 2013

    […] I haven’t said much recently; nothing’s really been worth saying. I agree with: We Need To Be Ashamed Of Our Confused Selves. | DEPRESSION: my muse. […]

Leave a Reply

