My Eyes Be Wide Open

18 Jun

The one hundred percent of you that I can’t have is far more of the you I need.

You know that small tip at the bottom of your heart where everything lands in the end?

I’ll take that part and leave the rest.

I am very selfish, but with you I feel like sharing.

My eyes be wide open and focused on the you I know and crave.

An insatiable thrist is what you have manifested in me.

I cannot venture to far from my you, as I would surely die without long, tall drinks.

There are things about you that I don’t know and what I don’t know won’t kill me, but not knowing you would make death a relief.

I cannot hold anything against you.

 I knew heartbreak was possible.

My eyes couldn’t be more open.

I would have stepped to you even if you were a cliff, I committed the first step and all after.

14 Responses to “My Eyes Be Wide Open”

  1. mary burrell June 18, 2013 at 6:36 PM #

    Beautiful. I take it you are feeling better.

  2. diaryofanegress June 18, 2013 at 7:35 PM #

    Beautiful!

    • hunglikejesus June 18, 2013 at 7:39 PM #

      Thank you sis, you know it means a lot to me when enjoy my efforts.

  3. TrojanPam June 19, 2013 at 5:13 PM #

    Ah, the pain and pleasure of romantic love

  4. Mary Burrell June 19, 2013 at 7:51 PM #

    Happy Juneteenth, Jesus.

    • hunglikejesus June 19, 2013 at 8:38 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Mary, though we don’t celebrate Juneteenth that much east of the Mississippi. In fact, I had never celebrated it until I was out west.

  5. Jeff Nguyen June 21, 2013 at 10:16 AM #

    The heart wants what the heart wants…honest love and honest words. Good stuff here.

  6. honeytreebee July 6, 2013 at 3:11 AM #

    Jesus you find the most beautiful art work. Your writing as always wow.

    • hunglikejesus July 6, 2013 at 9:43 PM #

      Thank you missy. I really try to match my thoughts to an image.

Leave a Reply

