Before Grits Were Grocery Part V

16 Jun

Image

After a little while, we all got used having Mackenzie around. She had become part of the family and was treated the same way as the rest of us. She had her chores just me and Casa, but we helped her since she wasn’t really used to doing the things we had to do. Like pulling weeds in mama’s garden or some yard work that daddy had left for us before he went to work. Doing them with Mackenzie seemed to make it not work.

Daddy was outside cutting grass when he stepped into get some ice water from the kitchen. Mama and Mackenzie were in the there cutting up okra for dinner, when out of nowhere Mackenzie asked daddy when her father would be back? It surprised daddy because she never seemed to care where he was, or if he was even coming back up until this point. Daddy not missing a beat replied, “you don’t like living here with us Mac?” “Yes sir, I love it here with you all, and I don’t want to leave that’s why I asked,” Mackenzie said. “Well, when I last talked with the person, you call your father, all he said was he had a lot of business to take care of at the bottom of the ocean,” daddy said. “ROBERT!” Mama shouted. “That’s not funny,” she continued. “Mac don’t you worry, we’ll take good care of you right here until your mother comes for you.”

Summer was almost over, and we were running out of things to do. We chased all the geese away that swan in the pond out back. We messed around with the frogs, tadpoles and crawfish until they became boring. We played all the games we could think of; freeze tag, hide the switch and stuff like that. Not much trouble to get into on a small island that won’t get you killed or worse, yelled at.

Mama was going to Charleston and asked if we wanted to go. She must have seen the desperation in our eyes. “Yes ma,ma” we all said like a choir. We don’t go into town too much, so whenever we get a chance to go it’s always an adventure and we really needed something to do. Mama was gonna go and pay somebody for something, and we decided we would stay behind at the Dairy Queen eating chili dogs and drinking milkshakes until she came back to pick us up. Mama didn’t want a chili dog or a milkshake, something about it going straight to her butt. Whatever, they were delicious. It was a big tree at the back of the Dairy Queen with a bench under it, so we went back there and sat eating our food. “Man do I love me some chili dogs” Casa said. With chili all over the front of his shirt and around his mouth. “Casa, what’s wrong with you, look at your face?” I said to him.

“I can’t see my face Ty, what’s wrong with it?” Casa carried on.

“You got chili all over yourself.” Mackenzie got her napkins and helped Casa clean his face.

“Thank you Mackenzie,” Casa said.

“You know Mac?” “Don’t you say it or I’m gonna smack your face again” said Mackenzie.

“Okay, okay, shoot, it’s true,” said Casa, “I’m gonna make you my wife, I gotta protect you from people” Casa went on. Mackenzie rolled her eyes and took a bite of her chili dog.

Just when we had finished our food and started to run around after each other when Mackenzie spotted her aunt. She yelled to get her attention, and she soon spotted us all back there. She came over with her big hat on and yellow dress with big, black flowers on it. She looked like queen in Black skin. “Hey Ms. Mackenzie, hello boys, what y’all doing over here by yourselves?” She said.

“We came to town with Ms. Lisa. She had to go somewhere and she let us here until she got back.” Mackenzie explained.

“Oh, okay then, well, where is that no-good father of yours little missy?” She asked. “He had to take care of some business at the bottom of the ocean.” Mackenzie replied.

“WHAT!!” Mackenzie’s aunt screeched. Just when she said that mama pulled up, and we all ran toward the truck. “Hey Lisa, how are dear heart?” the lady said.

I’m fine girl, just trying to pay some bills and keep these children out of trouble.” Mama said.

“I asked Mackenzie where her father was and do you know what she told me?” “What?” mama said. “At the bottom of the ocean taking care of some business, what does that mean Lisa?”

“Well, Robert was teasing her when he told Mac that, it meant nothing. Robert is always saying crazy things.” Mama said.

“Oh, well where is he?” The lady said “Robert said he had a lot of work outta of town and would not be able to tkae Mac with him, and wanted us to look after her until he got back.” Mama explained. “I’ll tell you something Lisa, I think bastard is touching that girl and I don’t mean like how a father is supposed to touch his daughter either.” she went on.

“What are you saying?” mama said. “You know what I’m saying, and if I ever find out I swear to god I’m gonna cut his ass up into little pieces.” The lady said angrily.

“And I’ll help you.” Mama told her. “Look, I’m going to see Mac’s mother at the end of this week and I want to take her with me. I’ll call you later and we can work out the details.” “Okay then.” Mama said. “Let me get back home before Robert get’s home, and just give me call.” mama said. “Okay Lisa.

By the time we made it back to the house we were very tired and mama told us to go take a nap. Daddy was home already and was out in the shed doing something as usual. Mama went went back there and walk in the shed and closed the door. “I saw Mac’s aunt in town today.”

“Oh yeah, how is she?” Do you know what Mackenzie told her? No Lisa, what did Mac tell her? She told her that her father was at the bottom of the ocean taking care of some business. So. So!? So?! Are you serious? People are gonna start to wonder where that man is. Lisa. Lisa. Lisa. Nobody is gonna care where that nasty cracka is, not even his own child. Have you ever seen anyone over here looking for him since they moved in over there? No. Have you ever wondered where he was? No. Okay then, trust your husband to take care of this and his family. Daddy gave mama a reassuring kiss on the cheek and a little pat on the butt. Then in the worst Italian mafioso impersonation ever heard anywhere, daddy said, “he sleeps with the fishes tonight.” Mama cracks a smile and starts to walk out, then turns to daddy. Robert? Yes baby. We really need to sit down with Mac and let her talk this thing out. I know Lisa, but we can’t push her. “And what about you Robert?” Huh. How are you? Look I’m fine, the trash got taken out and the fishes eat well. I will never feel bad about saving a children from any kind of abuse. I’ll meet my maker with my head held high.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Please forgive any error in this part. I’m not feeling well today so my proofreading was poor. If you see any error please let me know and I’ll fix them. I really wanted to get this out today.     

6 Responses to “Before Grits Were Grocery Part V”

  1. mary burrell June 16, 2013 at 10:05 PM #

    Feel better.

  2. mary burrell June 16, 2013 at 10:06 PM #

    Even with the errors, It’s still a good story. I hope you feel better. Take care of yourself.

    • hunglikejesus June 17, 2013 at 7:34 AM #

      Thank you Ms. Mary and I’ll try and do better in the future.

  3. Amarie June 16, 2013 at 10:35 PM #

    Yup this story is good and i too hope you feel better. I wish you well.

    • hunglikejesus June 17, 2013 at 7:31 AM #

      Thank you sis.

      I think I’ll live.

      Also, thank you for your continued support.

Leave a Reply

