Before Grit Were Grocery Part IV

7 Jun

Image

Daddy and Casa were left on their own; he reassured his youngest son that he was not in trouble and no harm would ever come to him for talking to his father.

Please, son, tell me what you saw; daddy held him tight. Casa rubbing his eyes told his father what he saw and daddy being the man he is, broke down too. He sent Casa downstairs with me and mama to help us get the grill ready for the fish we had caught earlier that day. Mama had her big pot on the stove heating up for some real mad crabs. I liked putting the crabs in the hot steam pot; the way they tried to get out made me laugh. I walked over to Casa who was standing by the grill spreading the coals out. “You okay?” I asked him. “Yeah”. I left him and went back to the pot to put some onions in the water that mama had just cut into big pieces. “Where’s daddy?” Mama asked Casa. “Oh, I think he’s still upstairs.” “Okay”, mama said. “He said he was coming right behind me.” “Let’s give him a few minutes, then I’ll go and check on him”.

Mama wanted to go upstairs right then and check on Robert, but she didn’t. She knew daddy was hurting for Mackenzie and was deciding how he should go about this. Daddy stood looking out that window for a long time. He watched as the big ships came in and then out again. He watched them until they could no longer be seen, he watched the waves swell and wear out on the beach. I had seen my father cry a few times, but not like this. It looked like he was hurt; I mean really hurt. My father’s heart was broken; he thought he could protect his family from the nastiness of this world. He had tried so hard to give us the very best he could and for this to come home was more than he could stand. And Mackenzie, he had to save that little girl from her father.

Mama had finished cooking her crabs and the fish was almost ready. I was making a salad from all the things mama had growing out back. I loved the smell of the tomatoes after mama picked them and brought them in the house. The fish was sizzling when daddy put them on the table. I was hoping to hear some stories from daddy while we ate, but nobody said much or ate much. We all were thinking about our little friend who had brought us some much fun. Mackenzie was only half Black; mama said they used to call them mulattos, but it wasn’t a nice name so me and Casa were not to call her that. Mackenzie’s father was white and not from this area. Daddy and him talked some but they didn’t really like each other. Daddy said he was fake and he didn’t really like Black people and we were to stay away from him. Mackenzie’s mother was away at some kind of hospital, mama said she was very nervous and needed to be looked after. She was from the area and her parents had died when she was young and she didn’t have any brothers or sisters. She had aunts and uncles and cousins that still lived around here, but that white man of hers had ran them off. They don’t come around much, except to see Mackenzie.

Mackenzie was always funny looking to me. Her hair was always standing straight up and it was yellow. She had freckles and green and brown eyes, she told us that she could see in the dark and around corners. She was just one of us after they moved in over there. She came over whenever she wanted and spent the night when her mother was home. She was like our funny looking sister. I think we loved her.

None of us slept much last night, I could hear mama and daddy talking most of the night. Casa slept some I think; he didn’t move much, but he never moves much. I could hear mama downstairs cooking breakfast and cleaning up or something. Daddy was out back cleaning his boat. He always cleans it when he comes in from the water, but last night he didn’t because of the Mackenzie thing. Then I heard a voice that sounded a lot like Mackenzie downstairs; my heart was beating so fast. I woke up Casa and told him Mackenzie was downstairs. He jumped up and ran downstairs with nothing but his drawers on. He gave Mackenzie a big hug as she sat at the table eating strawberries and drinking orange juice. Mama screamed at him to go put on some clothes. Casa was back and so was that grin.

After breakfast daddy calmed us all down and said he had something to tell me and Casa. He looked nervous and his hands shook a little bit, he said that Mackenzie would be staying with us until her mother got better and could take of her. I thought Casa would pop and I was glad too. I asked daddy what happened to her daddy? He just said he’ll no longer be around and left it at that. Mama looked at him like I had never seen her look at him before; they had a secret and they looked nervous. After daddy finished Casa and Mackenzie ran upstairs to play video games, I stayed and talk to mama for a minute and I watched daddy. I had never seen him clean his boat like this. He was back at it after breakfast and why was his rifle out? Hunting season was far away.

11 Responses to “Before Grit Were Grocery Part IV”

  1. honeytreebee June 8, 2013 at 8:09 AM #

    Love this story. Jesus, you really make them come to life. The father did the right thing scum like that…

    • hunglikejesus June 8, 2013 at 2:12 PM #

      Thank you honeytree.

      This is one of my most favorites things to do these days. I’ve written enough about this family so far, I could post everyday for a couple of weeks. Some of the story will never see the light of day and others take very different turns. I’m trying to see best which way they go.

      What do you mean the father did the right thing? You cleaning his boat before the salt water got all crusty on it? Or allowing Mackenzie to come stay with them until her mother get’s better? I don’t know what you’re referring to. LOL!!

      Thank you for stopping by sis.

      • CREE-EIGHT June 8, 2013 at 2:59 PM #

        This story is being told in such a wonderful voice. I sense it is a combination of the father and the oldest son even though narrated through the son. It’s a wonderful voice. It gives me a magical sort of insight into a male mind in a somewhat idyllic way. The Makenzie tragedy really brings out that contrast.Great stuff. Keep it coming!!!!

        • hunglikejesus June 8, 2013 at 3:27 PM #

          Thank you so much Ms. CREE.
          I go back and forth with the narration because my skill level won’t allow me to stay in character. Meaning: the words I need to use as a little boy have somewhat left me; and I think if I did use those words it would be really hard for the reader to follow. It is the father’s voice, but only because he raised Ty and Ty is just like him. It’s more like 10 year old Ty and an older Ty telling the story. And before I let you go, let me tell you that women like you have played a major role in the feel of this story. You are the ones that make the weave a fabric.

          Thank you for reading this and enjoying it.

  2. Amarie June 9, 2013 at 1:27 AM #

    OOHHH this story is getting good:) And I just love it.

    • hunglikejesus June 9, 2013 at 6:17 AM #

      Thank you very kindly.

      I think it’ll continue to develop into a story about the closeness and love of a Black family. A Black family that the world says does not and cannot exist. It’s my goal with this story to give us the humanity has been stripped from us. They’ll be no self-hatred, drug dealing, gang-banging, wife beating, murdering of Black flesh, niggers, hoes, bitches nor will there be any blonde head Black women, hanging out in the streets nor praising of our oppressors. What we’ll have is a normal family that truly loves each other for no other reason than the fact that they love each other. You know, like it should be.

      Thank you again for stopping by; you truly appreciated.

  3. mary burrell June 9, 2013 at 5:15 PM #

    All that crabs and fish was making me hungry. Yeah, I figured that the boys daddy would kill Mckenzie’s nasty daddy. Nice little short story.

    • hunglikejesus June 9, 2013 at 5:21 PM #

      Hey Ms. Mary, you do know the story ain’t over……… it ain’t over. And why do you think daddy killed the caveman? I didn’t write that no where in that last part. You assume he’s dead because he should be dead and if Mackenzie was my or your child he would be dead, but I didn’t say he was dead.LOL!! Let’s not jump ahead, he may just be on holiday and asked the family to watch over Mackenzie. Right?

      Thank you Ms. Mary for your support.

    • hunglikejesus June 9, 2013 at 6:54 PM #

      Here go Ms. Mary.

      117-low-country-2bf1bdee-sz500x667-animate

  4. Antone June 13, 2013 at 7:59 AM #

    So far so good! Like everyone else I assume the pops killed old dude but I’m interested in seeing if there’s a twist. The little girl didn’t seem too distraught but maybe she was happy to see her dad get his.

    • hunglikejesus June 13, 2013 at 9:24 AM #

      I really don’t know if pops killed the caveman, we’ll have to wait and see what pans out.

      Mackenzie hated her father. She was glad to be living with Casa and Ty. I think her mother will be soon. But I’m not to sure.

      Thank you for stopping by and reading the story.

Leave a comment