Before Grits Were Grocery Part III

24 May

Image

As the summer dragged on, Saturdays were always something me and Casa looked forward to. That’s when daddy would take us out with
him on his boat. We would fish all day and just be with daddy. I really hated fishing, but loved being with daddy. Something told
me that if I stayed close enough to him; I would be just like him when I grew up. I wanted a wife like his and two sons just like
him. First, I had to get me a job, so I could pay for a good wife like mama; daddy always told me that a good woman didn’t come
cheap. So I think he had to pay a lot for mama, and she gave him, me and Casa as change. I love being in this family and planned
on being in it forever.

 

We had a bucket of fish by the time the sun got too hot and started to head back home when daddy decided to get some crabs for
mama. We pulled up in the marina and daddy docked the boat and then he started digging in the bucket to get one of the smaller
fish out. He had Casa cut the fish into smaller pieces then tied some twine around each piece. Daddy then took the fish and twine
and tossed it in the shallow pool just outside the marina. I held one of the lines with the fish pieces tied to the twine, and
daddy held the other. Casa had the net to scoop the crabs up as we lured them in with the cut fish. Man, I really didn’t like
this, but it was for mama, and I would do anything in the world for her. I sat there and watched the crabs surround the bait, and
I slowly pulled the line. The trick was to pull the line real slow so that the crabs would follow the meat and not realize they
were being lured in and just when they got close enough Casa would catch them in the net. We did this a few times until we had a
nice bucket of crabs for mama. She would be so happy; mama loved crabs.

 

Later, that day when we got back home and cleaned up, me and Casa walked down to Mackenzie’s to see if she wanted to come over and
eat with us. When we got there, we did our secret knock on her window, but we got no answer. We knew she was there because her
bike was lying on the ground, and her father’s truck was in the yard. We knocked again and called her name; Casa climbed up on a
cinder block and looked in her window. I asked Casa if he could see her and his face looked strange to me, like I had never seen
him look before. I said, “is she in there?” Casa just looked in the window ignoring me with a blank face. He jumped down and said
come on Ty let’s go. “Casa, was she in there?” Yeah, she’s in there, but her daddy was doing something to her that didn’t look
right. Daddy’s ain’t supposed to be with their children like that. Like what Casa? I don’t know, and I don’t wanna talk about it.
I stopped him from walking and spun him around, what did you see boy? He started to cry and ran home. I didn’t know if I should
walk back to Mackenzie’s or go catch up to my brother. I stood there for a minute and decided to go catch Casa.

 

When I got home, I didn’t see Casa, so I ran upstairs, and there he was on mama’s lap crying his eyes out. Mama was crying too,
and she motioned for me to come over. She hugged me tight and called for daddy to come upstairs. Daddy ran up the steps only
hitting two or three stairs as he knew something was not right. Mama lifted Casa’s head and asked him to tell daddy what you told
me. Casa couldn’t or wouldn’t speak, C’mon baby tell daddy what you told me, said mama. Casa wouldn’t speak, and daddy rubbed his
head and then asked me what happened? I told him we just went down to Mackenzie’s to see if she wanted to eat with us, was that
wrong daddy? No son, you know Mackenzie is always welcome in this house. So what did she say? Well, we knocked on her window, but
got no answer, so we knocked again, and still she didn’t come out. So Casa got on that cinder block and looked in the window and
just looked really crazy like he was looking at a dead person. Then he jumped down and ran home. Mama was still cradling Casa and
was just getting him to open up. Casa starts to tell us what he saw, but started to cry again and mama said, “it’s okay baby boy,
you don’t have to say anything right now.” “Y’all ready to eat?” Mama said, I’m gonna go and put some of those nice fish on the
grill. Come on Ty and help me.

 

 

8 Responses to “Before Grits Were Grocery Part III”

  1. mary burrell May 29, 2013 at 9:02 PM #

    OMG!!! I am hurting for little Mckenzie and the little boys. Oh Jesus, this is so sad. Give me more.

    • hunglikejesus May 29, 2013 at 9:07 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Mary, when you wrote that just now it hit home for me and broke my heart as well. I should be posting part 4 tomorrow, we’ll all see together what happens to Mackenzie and them boys. I think daddy is mad though.

  2. mary burrell May 29, 2013 at 9:23 PM #

    I can’t wait. It is a special treat like dessert to read your writing.

    • hunglikejesus May 29, 2013 at 9:26 PM #

      Ms. Mary, are you flirting with me? LOL!

      Thank you for reading my writings Sista are greatly appreciated.

  3. Amarie May 30, 2013 at 1:52 PM #

    Wow,this story is getting even more interesting. I feel sorry for Mackenzie and hope things turn out for the better for her. I’m sure some of us have known someone who has been in a situation similar to hers. Great story Jesus and looking foward to part 4.

    • hunglikejesus May 30, 2013 at 6:10 PM #

      Thank you for stopping by sis.

      I really don’t know right now how Mackenzie will look on the other side of this situation. I do know that her best allies are her firends.

      I will be posting part 4 this weekend I’m sure.

      Thank you for stopping by.

      • honeytreebee May 31, 2013 at 7:10 AM #

        Jesus your writing is real powerful. You are indeed a true writer through and through.

        • hunglikejesus May 31, 2013 at 12:48 PM #

          Thank you honey for stopping by and reading part 3, but I am by no means a writer. I can sometimes put words together and they can sometimes make sense, but that is it. Thank you anyway though.

Leave a Reply

