Self Acceptance: Maybe I Can Drink The Ocean

5 Apr

This song is indescribably deep with elements from different genres and time periods. Give it a listen independently of the piece or play it while you read. These two go together like potted meat and saltines.

Image

Judgmental people made me imperfect and in their judgmental stew I marinated. My mirror is the liar and my vision is not to be trusted.

I can recall with some effort when love of self was the order of my day and as common as an exhale.

Good thoughts flowed like time. Now that flow has been dammed and deviated to the desert of second guessing.

The me I know turned into the me I knew. The solid self-reflections of others pelted me from below as that was their only angle.

Confusion was a leech that slowly sapped my love of life, sunsets, seeing people and breathing. My person had a broken leg and was set for pasture.

To the wounded time will heal, for me time is hell. Left flailing in an ocean the only hope is to drink to not drown.

All is not lost for me.

I still have my awe inspirations. My time here is not wasted. The mountains I love so much are here. The trees that sway in the afternoon breeze are still here.The female form that I truly love is still a work of art. I still have plenty of love in me.

We are just primates sitting in front of computers with no keyboards, left unimpressed and bored we tear at each other.

We still have forgiveness in us.

5 Responses to “Self Acceptance: Maybe I Can Drink The Ocean”

  1. Amarie April 8, 2013 at 3:15 AM #

    LOL @ potted meat and saltines. I used to love that stuff.
    That was a Deep thought provoking piece Sir and the music playing while reading was intense. We all must forgive ourselves and learn to love ourselves so that we can move on in life and continue to grow spiritually.I wish you all the best.Peace

    • hunglikejesus April 8, 2013 at 5:18 PM #

      Hahahahaha I’m glad you thought that was funny, it was really meant to be. And yeah, I have eaten it before in another life.

      The loving of self and the forgiveness of self is a lot easier said than done, I’m sure you know that. I’ll leave that there as this issue is really touchy with me and those demons have yet to be purged.

      I thank you so much for stopping by and please drop by whenever you want, these doors never close.

  2. mary burrell April 10, 2013 at 6:55 PM #

    LoL at potted meat and saltines. I will not judge you sir.

    • hunglikejesus April 10, 2013 at 7:03 PM #

      See y’all done got all uppity and forgot from which you came. I can remember enjoying some potted meat and crackers and some kinda sweet brown beverage as well to wash it all down. Now, you would have tie me down and force it down my throat. We live and we learn….fo sho.

      Thank you for stopping by Ms. Mary, I is always glad to hear from you.

  3. No Black Pete September 10, 2013 at 7:48 AM #

    Beautiful work in progress…

Leave a Reply

