Happy Belated Birthday Sista, We Still Love You.

22 Feb

10 Responses to “Happy Belated Birthday Sista, We Still Love You.”

  1. Sandra February 22, 2013 at 5:59 PM #

    You have got to be kidding me. This is the most amazing set of photos. The reality captured, even in the man’s sideways glance at the diner. The emotion, the intimacy. Thank you, Thank you. Beautiful.

    • hunglikejesus February 22, 2013 at 8:30 PM #

      LOL!! Thank you Ms. Sandra, I got the photos from Time.com’s Lightbox. I get a set of photos of the week plus some special photos like the ones I posted.

      Thank you for stopping by.

  2. Amarie February 23, 2013 at 2:29 AM #

    Great photos of Nina Simone. She was such a beautiful and talented woman who was comfortable in her skin. I love her music and thanks for posting.

    • hunglikejesus February 23, 2013 at 4:05 PM #

      You are very welcomed and I guess she was comfortable in her skin. I wonder what that feels like?

  3. mary burrell February 23, 2013 at 12:58 PM #

    Jesus, those are great photos. They capture Ms. Simone’s queenly essence. Black women looked like queens back then.

    • hunglikejesus February 23, 2013 at 4:10 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Mary, I was surprised by them myself when they were in my inbox. I really pleasant surprised.

      Black women still look like queens now, they just don’t believe that they do.

  4. sepultura13 February 23, 2013 at 3:57 PM #

    Beautiful pictures of a beautiful, talented queen. She is missed greatly…

    Thank you.

    • hunglikejesus February 23, 2013 at 4:11 PM #

      Thank you sis for stopping by. I listen to Ms. Simone everyday, she in heavy rotation on/in my ipod.

  5. alexwalkingbear April 21, 2013 at 2:10 AM #

    Mississippi god damn!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Musings: 24th February 2013 | Random Ramblings; Myriad Musings - February 24, 2013

    […] tribute to one of the greatest songstresses and piano players of all time: Nina Simone – I wanted to give special thanks to hunglikejesus; if I hadn’t read his tribute to her, I would have forgotten to post it completely. Check out […]

Leave a Reply

