Are We In Retrograde??

18 Jan

I was talking with Truth today and she said somethings that made me think of this piece so I decided to repost it. I should have a new piece up tonight. I’ve been moving and settling in and my thoughts have been unclear. I’ve gotten use to my new surrounding (and loving them) so I can focus now. Me thinks.Image

Are we in retrograde?

our sun comes out but it does not shine

our faces have smiles but we are not happy

our days go by but we stand still

our bodies are strong but we are tired

our minds are sharp but we do not learn

Are we in retrograde?

we have lives but we don’t live

we have houses but we have no homes

we have families but do we have tribes

we have work but it is not ours

we have hearts but do we love

Are we in retrograde?

our bellies are full but we do not grow

our air is fresh but we do not breath

our world is wide but we are small

our hearts are blessed but they do not beat

our god is present but we do not pray

Are we in retrograde?

we are a nation but have no land

we are a people but have no possessions

we are beautiful but have no pride

we are Black but our hearts are not

we are solid but stand on sand

Are we in retrograde?

8 Responses to “Are We In Retrograde??”

  1. diaryofanegress January 18, 2013 at 7:21 PM #

    One of your bests. Makes you think, right? I wonder how far we’ve really come.

    • hunglikejesush January 18, 2013 at 7:30 PM #

      I wonder how far we’ve fallen.

      Thank you sis for being such a patience, somewhat confidant.

      • diaryofanegress January 18, 2013 at 7:54 PM #

        We’ve fallen hard but some of us are hip to the game. We’re waking up daily. Don’t give up hope on us.

  2. mary burrell January 18, 2013 at 11:50 PM #

    There is so much truth in this piece. Yes we as a people are definitely in retrograde. We are going backwards not forwards. This is very frightening to me.

  3. mary burrell January 18, 2013 at 11:53 PM #

    Yes to all the things in the poem. I am wondering what will become of us (Black ) people?

    • hunglikejesush January 19, 2013 at 10:19 AM #

      Hey Ms. Mary, thank you as per always. I have thought about this piece often since it came to light and I have to wonder; is it us in retrograde or is it our world? I can’t really tell anymore. This life is so full of holes and cold hearts until all we can do is try to survive. In that surviving does it push us backwards? No doubt we got a mess to deal with, but is that mess ours? I watched a program on PBS last night and you should check it out when you have a chance, here’s the link: http://www.slaverybyanothername.com/

      When you see this video ask yourself are we in retrograde and see what comes from your own deep thoughts. Me being sensitive; too sensitive for this world, it made me mad as hell to watch. They kick us in the stomach then slap our face because we dare protest about our abuse. I think dealing with this reality the way it stands right now will make you people regress. We have to learn to cut ourselves some slack from time to time. Trust me most people of other races couldn’t deal with what we ignore on a daily bases without snapping.

      Thank you Sista.

  4. JB January 23, 2013 at 9:51 AM #

    Very well said. Now let’s do something about it.

    • hunglikejesus January 23, 2013 at 11:40 AM #

      I have some ideas and they have been out into motion. The main thought is to have liked mined people move together in one place. Or at least in closer together, but this isn’t the place to talk about that.

Leave a Reply

