Lest We Forget

9 Nov

Image

The balloons have all been popped, the confetti has long since settled, the check didn’t come last time and the check won’t come this time. Black faces with painted on smiles held out HOPE for CHANGE and ended up holding out their hands for change. Disappointment is easily forgotten through sweet speeches and amber waves of grain. The red, white and blue will never include Black, from sea to shining sea.

Lest we forget, this is the road often traveled that leads us to the road often traveled. We are so optimistic with a face that looks like ours own, until we don’t see that that face has never faced us…..except to chastise and patronize.

Oh, say can’t you see by the dawns early light, that we are alone here? We can stand on purple mountains and not see one that would defends us, helps us, calls us their own. Lest we forget, the White House is not the color of the house, but the status of the house. We simply clean it and keep it white.

Lest we forget, the rockets red glare are still sending death to people that look like us. Those bombs didn’t burst in air, but in homes of people, that look like you and I. That star spangled banner will not include Black nor will highest office in the land.

Lest we forget, we were dragged here for one reason and that reason still be the reason we are here. So wipe those grins off, stand up straight, look out for me, as I look out for you.

Before we get to proud of ourselves, lest we forget, when that paper was signed YOU and I were in the barn with the rest of the animals.

11 Responses to “Lest We Forget”

  1. mary burrell November 9, 2012 at 8:00 PM #

    I get that you are not an Obama fan. And that’s ok. I would like to give him a chance to prove himself. But the juxtapostion of American icons is very clever. I like this poem. Keep hope alive my brother.

    • hunglikejesus November 9, 2012 at 8:08 PM #

      Hello Ms. Mary, so glad to hear from you as always.

      I’m really not a fan of politics at all. I find it very phony and well, political. These people say the same things over and over and I guess they hope no one will notice.

      “let’s keep hope alive” will be on my tombstone. GET IT?

      Again, thank you Ms. Mary for stopping by and reading my musing.

  2. diaryofanegress November 9, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

    *standing ovation*

    I made so many enemies on my site trying to educate folks on the Obama deception but now I’m starting not to give a shit.

    I’ll continue to post on the things that matter and leave the rest to their own will.

    I love this one…one of your best.

    • hunglikejesus November 9, 2012 at 8:23 PM #

      Thank you very kindly Sista.

      You know, all you can do is sound the alarm. You can’t make grown people do anything, if they wanna be proud of the president then let them. We are all victims in need of a big universal hug, so almost any ol’ thing will do. You just keep doing what it is that you do and the ” US” will come.

      Thank you so much Sista for your unending support. You know I got you.

  3. terribleboss November 10, 2012 at 7:32 PM #

    Black people are too easily divided. Always have been. We also don’t organize well. The white man is a master at organizing. They fall in line. This is why they are able to start and run businesses so efficiently. They all fall in line. Fall in place. Do their part. Their is no pushing or prodding. They just do what they have to do.

    The white man fears the black man finding his place.. finding his conscious. We have settled for less in this great land. We have settled for minimum wage, welfare, and disenfranchisment. We need to start back marching. Start demanding a piece of the American pie. They have locked us out of most of the very lucrative industries in this country, regardless of our qualifications and intelligence. They give us welfare to passify those of us who are weak..into thinking this is “Good Enough”..

    Welfare has been a scourge on the black man.. A total scourge

    We need to find out how to organize and direct our anger and discontent into action..

    • hunglikejesus November 10, 2012 at 9:27 PM #

      Thank you for stopping by, I really appreciate that.

      I think Black people are easily divided, but you must remember that Black people are victims of all sorts of external evils aimed at our esteem. We are hated by every other race on this globe. The real effect of these external evils is that we hate ourselves more than any other race on this globe. With that, we rendered blank slates and with blank slates, you do with them what you will. I won’t preach because from your comment, you know these things well.

      Where we part ways is with the marching. That won’t solve nothing and is welcomed by the powers that be. As long as you keep them marching we know they ain’t gonna do nothing else. The civil rights laws were gonna happen no matter what. It was just not good for business to leave out an entire section of the populous and it helped to bring us down. We did well in segregation, integration is what hurt us. That whole I can do business with white people we took pride in. Also, it brought about the Black people can’t do nothing right and are lazy thing. We just been had and it easy to take people who have very little left.

      Let’s not forget that most Black people have mental illness that has festered for so long, it has become culture.

      Again, thank you so much for stopping by and feel free to hangout any time. I got plenty to think about here.

      • terribleboss November 10, 2012 at 9:42 PM #

        You’re very knowledgeable and socially aware. I just wish more black men were like you. Thanks for your response.

  4. Sandra November 12, 2012 at 4:34 AM #

    Nice bit of word rain. It will stay with me, and that’s more than I can say for most things I read. I hear little anger in it; I hear more than a little resignation. There is tension that belies the seeming easy rush of free verse. And thank you that it isn’t flow-of-consciousness because people deserve better.

    You see me as an individual, don’t you? I’m not just a white person who whitewashes issues and tensions. No, the next words I type are not going to be, “I understand,” or “I’ve got lots of black friends.”

    Black is my family. My sisters are mulatto (how terrible to belong to nothing). My nieces and nephew are black.

    Yeah, perhaps desegregation (which is not the same as integration) wasn’t everything each side had expected, even now. Even now.

    My grandfather was working in Tennessee with a group of men, and one black man. They all had worked just as hard and they all had sweat the same. The black man was thirsty and stood back even after all the whites had had their fill. My grandfather gestured and chided the black man to drink. The white men suddenly stood up. My grandfather challenged any of them to deny the black man to wet his mouth. My grandfather was well respected and no hand raised in opposition. The black man drank his fill. To my grandfather, the black man was a stranger who had worked his share and deserved his share of the resources, too. To my grandfather, the black had become an individual.

    You see me as an individual, don’t you? That’s where you fit into my view, an individual.

    • hunglikejesus November 12, 2012 at 6:02 PM #

      Thank you for stopping by and spending some time here with me, it is appreciated even though what I’m fixin’ to write might make you believe otherwise.

      Taking white people as individuals…….when I read your comment this morning I thought about that and thought about it all day. What I come to realize is Black people can’t afford to take white people as individuals. History has taught us that white people are to be taken as we see them and that is as a people. An oppressor, an officer, a massa, the mean old bastard down the street, the nasty young one who has a fetish for little Black boys, the not so young one who has a nasty fetish for little nigger girls (thank you diaryofanefgress). We simply cannot afford to let any of you off the hook, not the ones of us who’s eyes face forward and who’s vision has not been blurred by the hopes of some multi-cultural dream. White people can and do (like your grandfather) have the luxury of taking people anyway they choice, simply because they make the rules and anybody that comes to them know that. You can either see me or not, it would of no consequent to you because you make the rules. I am slave to those rules. And I’ll stop as I hate to preach to people.

      One more thing though-saying you have Black family members is just like saying you have Black friends. Only you think it means more because you said “family members”. All I see is “yes I’m almost a nigger, but not quite”. OH!!! And yes, see we belong to something (meaning:we are alike, unlike those mulattoes) which by the way is an extremely racist term. I don’t buy any of it for one second. The post (s)election fallout tells the story.

      • Sandra November 13, 2012 at 3:43 AM #

        Mulatto is what my sister calls herself and she is the one saying it feels like she doesn’t belong. I didn’t label her that. I’ll never be a nigger, and neither will blacks.

        If you think mean bastards don’t come in every color or have a taste for gender in any color of skin and any age, you’ve got some living to do.

        Yeah, I’ll leave it here and disagree. Your posts are worth following. As I said, they stick with me.

        • hunglikejesus November 13, 2012 at 5:39 PM #

          I’ll take leave of this because we know this will just go around and around. I’m really glad that my words will stick with you and I will make my way over to your street and checkout some of your words. Maybe they’ll stick me me as well.

          Again, thank you much for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

