ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

2 Nov

this may help you to get into the groove of this piece:

Image

I TOSS MY PEOPLE UP TO SEE WHERE THEY LAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

SEE DEM POLICE BOI, DEM WANT FA CHASE I, BUT I NEVER RAN, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

MY HEART GOES OUT TO ALL BLACK PEOPLE ON THIS OUR LAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

WE RIGHT HERE AS “MEN”, LET’S PROMISE TO HAVE OUR WOMEN’S BACK AND TAKE HER HAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

LET’S US GUIDE OUR YOUNG AND KEEP THEM INBOUND AND AWAY FROM THE PLAN, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

CAN YOU HEAR ME AND DO YOU UNDERSTAND? ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

YES WE BE OUT GUNNED AND EVEN OUT MANNED, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

TO THOSE OF US WHO ALWAYS RISE, THIS SKIN OF OUR BE OUR BRAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

TO THOSE OF US WHO DON’T CARE ABOUT THE PRESIDENT AND HOPES HIS ASS GETS CANNED, ON TOP THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

TO THE PEOPLE UP NORTH WE ARE WITH YOU AND WE SEND YOU DRYLAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

I WONDER IF Y’ALL CAN GET TOGETHER AND DONATE SO THAT I MAY GET BROADBAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

TODAY IS MY BIRTHDAY AND I STILL DON’T FEEL LIKE A MAN, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

SHOULD WE STILL BE LOOKING FOR THE PROMISELAND? ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

IT’S BECAUSE I’M BLACK AIN’T IT? YOU SHOULD’VE THOUGHT ABOUT THAT BEFOREHAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

NO THANK YOU LADY, I’M INTO BLACK WOMEN, NOW STEP AWAY BEFORE YOU GET THIS BACKHAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

HOW ABOUT PUTTING THAT FORK DOWN INSTEAD OF GETTING A BELLYBAND, ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.

katrina showed they don’t care for us, sandy shows they care for no man, on top of this mess we must stand. 

25 Responses to “ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND.”

  1. CREE-EIGHT November 2, 2012 at 6:03 PM #

    THAT is one hell of an anthem. It might be THE anthem I’m not given to exaggerations.

    “On top of this mess we shall stand.” Drums, cymbals, orchestra, shills. All that.

    • hunglikejesush November 2, 2012 at 8:14 PM #

      thank you very kindly Ms.Cree, you continue to inspire me with your work.

  2. mary burrell November 3, 2012 at 12:11 PM #

    In addition to what Sister Cree Eight says, “Katrina showed they don’t care for us,Sandy shows they care for no man,on top of this mess we must stand. This poem sums up everything we are experiencing now in America. Is that you in the picture? I listened to a horrible story on the news yesterday about a Staten Island man refusing a black woman with two young children, her children were swept away in the flood waters. His response “I’m not the rescue team” That let’s you know the hearts of some people. I hope the ghost of those dead children haunt him forever.

    • hunglikejesush November 3, 2012 at 1:18 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Mary,
      I was listening to coverage of the mess up north as I was thinking about words in general (something I do often because words are hard for me for some reason, one suggested that I might be autistic), SERIOUSLY. When I saw these words coming together. Something took over and here we have this piece.

      I saw the video of how that sub that let those children drown and I’m not in the least bit surprised. In fact, I would have been surprised if he would have helped. I’m a firm believer that the universe seeks balance and if that balance is real, then the sub will have to answer to, not news cameras, but whatever hell spawn dug his corpse up and give it life. We need to be ready for these subs and the shit they do. Especially after the selection next week. You keep your head up and your powder dry.

      That is in fact the one and only HungLikeJesus can you see the resemblance?

  3. mary burrell November 3, 2012 at 12:13 PM #

    Now the white people know how the 9th ward people of Katrina felt. They were judging them. So why didn’t they get their asses out? And they had alot more resources than those folks.

    • hunglikejesush November 3, 2012 at 1:21 PM #

      It’s been told to me, that what they do to us is just rehearsal for what they are gonna do to everyone.

      Again, asante sana Missy for stopping by, I always look for your feedback.

    • Estellelight November 4, 2012 at 6:49 PM #

      Yes I agree. When Katrina victims were suffering people had no compassion whatsoever. Many even justified the tragedy by saying that black people deserved it. It is only when people suffer that they want others to feel their hurt. Truthfully when those neanderthals get the $$ to rebuild on the new shorelines and they are all comfy and cozy they will turn a blind eye, a deaf ear and a cold heart to black people’s plight.

      • hunglikejesus November 4, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

        It’s already started with this looting thing that’s been all over the front page of everything. There’s something coming and I don’t know the hell it is, but it is. The selection is gonna be shadier than usual because if this storm. We are in the front row for a very busy year.

        Thank you Sista Estelle for stopping by and spending some time with me.

  4. diaryofanegress November 6, 2012 at 1:19 PM #

    I love this so much…

  5. diaryofanegress November 6, 2012 at 1:19 PM #

    Reblogged this on diaryofanegress and commented:
    Black Anthem

  6. No Black Pete September 12, 2013 at 2:34 PM #

    Dang. Just as I deal with Katrina. May I use this?

    • hunglikejesus September 12, 2013 at 2:56 PM #

      Please use it. I love the way you go back and read the old post. That is so impressive.

      • No Black Pete September 12, 2013 at 3:11 PM #

        Much appreciated. I already finished the copy-paste. Lmao. It will be up at TMB soon enough. I just had to ask, because someone copied a post from one of my sites without referring back to it, and it pissed me off. So, I need to do right by the both of us and ASK. Now I can breathe the anger out.
        Your work is impressive. I like it. You may come hang out with me any time. It is (still) war. Peace.

    • hunglikejesus September 12, 2013 at 3:01 PM #

      OH!!! I forgot that picture was there. See, I ain’t hiding.

      • No Black Pete September 12, 2013 at 3:21 PM #

        Well, now you know. At least in this one you have one eye open. Still, due to a mind of my own, I replaced your picture. It will appear on the 17th or so. Be well. Peace.

        • hunglikejesus September 12, 2013 at 3:32 PM #

          You can even use the photo.

          I’m not sure what you mean with your statement. Clarity is of the essence.

          • No Black Pete September 12, 2013 at 3:33 PM #

            Lol. It IS of the essence. What did you not understand? I will await your answer before I log off, so I can explain, and sleep peacefully…

            • hunglikejesus September 12, 2013 at 3:50 PM #

              “Well, now you know” know what?

              • No Black Pete September 12, 2013 at 3:52 PM #

                Dang. Just as I was about to tap out. This is an easy one. “Well, now you know” that you put that picture up. I am glad I could clear it up for you. Now I can sleep like a baby. An overgrown one. Peace.

          • No Black Pete September 12, 2013 at 3:50 PM #

            I am putting an end to this day. Catch you on the other side of tomorrow then. Peace.

  7. hunglikejesus September 17, 2013 at 6:55 AM #

    Lol!! You used it huh? Thank you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND. « DEPRESSION: my muse « Innerstanding Isness - November 6, 2012

    […] ON TOP OF THIS MESS WE SHALL STAND. « DEPRESSION: my muse. […]

  2. Katrina – Just As I Thought I Could Walk Again. All Turned Quickly Into Sand. Y? « Too Much Black - September 17, 2013

    […] Source: https://depressionmymuse.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

