My Entrance Into Amerika Is A Bill Of Sale. Inspired by James Baldwin.

20 Oct

I was not taught much about Mr. Baldwin in school, in fact I was not taught much in school. It really sad, I could have been a James Baldwin had that been nurtured in me. I’m sure a lot of Black talent has been wasted and not developed in schools and I think that’s the point of school. So please go easy on me as I make this attempt at interrupting this great, great Black treasure.

Image

They call me Amerikan, but only by default.

They call me nigger because they are Amerikan by the grace of god.

I am owned, for the bible tells them so.

Though we share the same shameful and secret blood, you kill me.

The secret of us, must remain the secret of us.

We don’t seem to understand that what we have here is not a race problem, but a shade problem.

More of me shades you than live oaks on plantations that shaded you from the sun that shaded me.

Good evening Mr. Amerika, how are you this lightless day? Did you oppress, murder or break any treaties today?

In this country and in my mind, I was born colorless, grew up shady, matured into a darkie and retired a Black all the while called anything but.

And still my hand fits perfectly over my heart when I pledged allegiance to the this United States of Amerika. Perfectly, perfectly I say.

My calluses and broken back are not from labors that had benefited me and mine in our pursuit of happiness. No, but from empire building of which I am still not a part of.

Though history will tell the story of Amerika, it will not tell truth of Amerika.

I’m not angry nor will I get angry at this, my country tis of thee, but I am mad. Driven mad.

So I take my bow and bail out gracefully, because the day is coming when I will be just taken out.

7 Responses to “My Entrance Into Amerika Is A Bill Of Sale. Inspired by James Baldwin.”

  1. TrojanPam October 20, 2012 at 5:58 PM #

    What a tragic story about a brilliantly talented black author. Thanks for posting this pic, I’ve never seen it before

    • hunglikejesush October 20, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

      If you wanna talk about bravery, then talk about Baldwin. To be Black and homosexual in that day and be open was more than any lesser could think about. And this man is not nearly talked about enough. I was only introduced to him in school and it was just to get to somebody white. A treasure we have here and he’s not treasured.

      Thank you for stopping by and spending a bit of time with me.

  2. mary burrell October 23, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

    Mr.Baldwin would be proud. I’m not kidding you. I think he really would be impressed. I know janky poetry when i see it. You are a very good writer. I love that you paid homage, to Donny Hathaway. Loved him, he was truly a treasure so gifted. Phyllis Hyman suffured from this illness as well. Anyway Good job.

    • hunglikejesus October 23, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

      I’m planning a Ms. Hyman post for later this week.

      Thank you so much Ms. Mary, you are a treasure to me and I treasure you.

      • mary burrell October 24, 2012 at 7:19 PM #

        Well back atcha honey, You are so damn talented. I just love Baldwin and Richard Wright. And you are right the school system failed us.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Entrance Into Amerika Is A Bill Of Sale. Inspired by James Baldwin. « DEPRESSION: my muse « Innerstanding Isness - October 20, 2012

    […] My Entrance Into Amerika Is A Bill Of Sale. Inspired by James Baldwin. « DEPRESSION: my muse. […]

  2. Chicago Illustratez And Exemplifiez The Ghettoization, Thugization and Niggerization of Black Amerika | Moorbey'z Blog - July 17, 2014

    […] My Enter Into Amerika Is A Bill Of Sale. Inspired by James Baldwin. […]

Leave a Reply

