Our Hearts Remain.

15 Sep

Image

We played while bullets flew over head.

 

We play as they collect bodies broken and torn, we didn’t see.

 

Cooled battlefields are our playgrounds, not cooled for long as hate drifts in and out.

 

We are still children, our hearts remain, our spirits are not broken, our spirits are bent.

 

We will one day fight on the these playgrounds that are cooled battlefields.

 

Our hearts remain as children though not given a chance, we see this world through children’s eyes, we take to the sky and forsake the ground.

 

Days are still hopeful as flags burn and holes dug.

 

Smoke draped sunny days are still sunny days, even as mothers wail and dust settles around fresh Earth.

 

Our hearts remain as bullets fly and ominous skies bring hell fire and grief, we may not make it today, but it’s still day and we have some playing to do.

13 Responses to “Our Hearts Remain.”

  1. Estellelight September 15, 2012 at 1:54 PM #

    Very good poetic summation of the youth snatched from those in war torn countries. When I think about it – even the grown ups in those nations remain childlike because they never really had a childhood. I think harsh experiences (like war) forever alter that young person. To have to see the barbaric world we live in at a young age would explain why death is a welcome alternative to the child. So these children (babies) are born handed a rifle to fight and kill and understand it may be better to take his/her chances with death. There ONLY hope is to return to the place they came from and HOPE it is a better place… at least better than this.

    • hunglikejesus September 15, 2012 at 3:25 PM #

      I believe that children are able to be children somewhat no matter the situation. I like to believe that, but rather it’s true or not I don’t know. The governments around the world make sure that these “wars” never end by exposing children to these horrors. The U.S. government has assured us that the middle east will hate us for their actions from now until the foreseeable future. These children will grow up and they have the hatred of the west embedded in their DNA. How many people can you see blown to pieces and not be changed. And what’s more important, is they are now built for war and have zero fear of death.

  2. Robyn September 16, 2012 at 4:16 AM #

    It’s sad those children are made to fight…one of the reasons I never did like wars

    • hunglikejesus September 16, 2012 at 5:54 AM #

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Make no mistake the US is as much to blame for these children’s attempt at becoming “soldiers”. They rain hell on them from miles away, much like cowards throwing rocks and hiding their hands.

      • Kushite Prince September 18, 2012 at 8:36 PM #

        Great post! You’re a very talented writer. Have you ever thought about writing a book of poetry? I think you really have the talent.

        • hunglikejesush September 18, 2012 at 8:47 PM #

          Thank you Prince, you are to kind.

          I haven’t given any real thought to writing a book. I think whatever this is that I have was given to me to share. To charge for it would be disagreeable with the Most High. I really appreciate you, appreciating my writing.

          Again and most humbly, thank you.

          • Kushite Prince September 18, 2012 at 8:52 PM #

            You’re very welcome. And very modest as well.lol But I do think you’re doing a great service by letting us read your words. We all have to do our part to raise the consciousness of others. Letting others know what is going on around the world.Your blog is a beautiful light here on WordPress. It’s very much needed. 🙂

            • hunglikejesus September 18, 2012 at 8:55 PM #

              You don’t know how much that means to me. You give me fuel to carry on.

              You are truly royal.

              • Kushite Prince September 18, 2012 at 9:00 PM #

                That’s a great compliment coming from you. That means a lot. I do my best.

  3. mary burrell September 17, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

    Jesus, Isaw your comments on Truth Be told’s blog. “Coors Lite and vienna sausages.” Lol!!!!. I Love how you wax poetic. I AM YOUR #1 Fan. Peace and Blessings.

    • hunglikejesush September 17, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

      LOL like I said, I got a million of them, but I don’t think Ms. Ann likes my honest all that much, which why I don’t comment on her post. Though I love her writing.

      Ms. Mary you are to kind to me and thank you as always for stopping by and spending some time here. Seriously.

      • truthbetold September 27, 2012 at 4:34 PM #

        Actually, the vienna sausages thing was pretty damn funny.

        • hunglikejesush September 27, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

          as soon as I wrote that then read it, it cracked me up as well.

Leave a Reply

