All Men Are Created Equal.

19 Aug

Image

I was born in the back of a bus, my mother was on her way to work, to clean toilets and mop floors. My father collected trash. Honest work.

The books I was taught from were third hand with pages missing.

My mother learned from no books.

My father couldn’t read or write.

The streets were my university and the penitentiary was my graduate school.

For some lucky ones the morgue was graduation.

My mother was sticky sweet around white people and bitter nasty around me. We loved each other.

My father’s questions came after his bottle was empty and he kept the answers in his balled up fist.

Anger is my second nature, my gun is my first.

I love hate and love don’t love nobody.

My mother died on her knees cleaning toilets and mopping floors.

OH!! and praying to the white man on the cross.

My father lost his mind….all over the back of a police cruiser.

I have blood, sweat and tears in this land, it is mine. I am an American were All Men Are Created Equal.

this is the interview that got me to thinking about writing this piece. http://billmoyers.com/episode/encore-confronting-the-contradictions-of-america%E2%80%99s-past/

24 Responses to “All Men Are Created Equal.”

  1. diaryofanegress August 19, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

    Damn!!!!
    you can write your ass off!

    Where did this come from?

    • hunglikejesush August 19, 2012 at 9:09 PM #

      this comes from the collective consciousness of a people. I really don’t know what I write until I go back and read it. That tells me it’s not me, but us and we are us.
      Thank you Sista, you are also greatly appreciated.

  2. Cynical Afrikan August 19, 2012 at 9:05 PM #

    This is GOLD!

    • hunglikejesush August 19, 2012 at 9:09 PM #

      thank you Brotha, but I can’t even compare to the work you do.

      • Cynical Afrikan August 19, 2012 at 9:26 PM #

        Our work is diffrent that’s all. Your work is excellent.You’re talent for writing is impeccable. Keep up the excellent work.

        • diaryofanegress August 19, 2012 at 9:35 PM #

          cynic is right…you have an amazing talent….I’m proud of our God given ability.

          • hunglikejesus August 20, 2012 at 5:53 AM #

            I am also very proud of our collective works.

            Thank you sis.

        • hunglikejesus August 20, 2012 at 5:46 AM #

          Thank you so much, it really means a lot to me.

  3. Sudelicious August 20, 2012 at 6:07 AM #

    Your words are wonderful and powerful. I love it

    • hunglikejesus August 20, 2012 at 8:14 AM #

      Thank you very kindly. This is us trying to move forward.

  4. innerstanding isness August 20, 2012 at 3:39 PM #

    Reblogged this on Innerstanding Isness and commented:
    All Men Are Created Equal.

  5. yoknyamdabale August 20, 2012 at 7:32 PM #

    Profound and moving words…..Ashe!

    • hunglikejesush August 20, 2012 at 7:36 PM #

      thank you very much Sista, you are also profound and moving.

  6. mary burrell August 21, 2012 at 8:12 PM #

    LAWD!!!!! That was amazing. I love your stuff. I am a fan. Please tell me you will publish these in a book. I sure would buy it.

    • hunglikejesus August 28, 2012 at 10:49 AM #

      I really don’t feel that it’s right to charge for these writing. I think they were given to me to share. Thank you do much for your kind words.

  7. mary burrell August 21, 2012 at 8:14 PM #

    Dang, It was like James Baldwin or Richard Wright. It sorta in places reminded me of the Bluest Eye. This really made my evening. What a treat. I am so serious my brother. That was just amazing.

    • hunglikejesus August 21, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

      Sista, Sista when I say that you all make it worth whatever the ancestors put in me, I mean all of that.

      To be compared to Baldwin AND Wright is so amazingly special it humbles a already humbled soul. Richard Wright is where a lot of my vision comes from because he writes from where I come from. You flatter me more than I can or will expose here, but thank you. It’s always a good thing when a Black man can make a Black woman’s night.

      Thank you a million times for your too kind words and for stopping by and hanging out a bit.

  8. Robyn August 26, 2012 at 8:15 AM #

    I love it. No need to listen to the interview to feel what you wrote. I used to see some of this when I lived in Florida. Back then when I lived there, it was off the chain. Funny how evil whites try to sneak in stuff to justify their illegal actions against us, thus us being in prisoned…

    Once again, nice piece.

    • hunglikejesus August 26, 2012 at 11:31 AM #

      Thank you for stopping by and spending time.

      It is indeed nothing new to feel this and see this.

  9. honeytreebee March 16, 2013 at 9:15 AM #

    Wow Jesus you have some real writing chops.

    • hunglikejesush March 16, 2013 at 9:26 AM #

      After seeing that interview I had no choice but to write this. This place we call home is nothing but smoke and mirrors and we have all been hoodwinked, bamboozled, run amok, lead astray and yet we continue to dream.

  10. Becca March 8, 2015 at 4:06 AM #

    Can you tell me where you found this picture? Is ist Martin Luther King?

    • hunglikejesus March 10, 2015 at 6:49 AM #

      I can’t remember I probably just did some kind of vague search term. And no, that’s not MLK

Leave a Reply

