Hurt people, hurt people.

4 Aug

this may or may not enhance your reading pleasure, plus I love this song:

ImageImage

the photos are of Pastor Dr. James David Manning and the Rev. Jesse Lee Peterson, respectively. Please look these two up and the meaning of this piece will become clear.

they spit salt and vinegar into my open esteem as salt and vinegar had been spat in their’s. 

nasty words tumble from closed mouths as hateful eyes strip me to the bone without first thought.

we have learned well, this is what we do.

neither kin nor stranger will escape the venom of us, the inflicted, the sorry, the hurt.

young minds recoil in defense, absorb to cope, spew to fit in, the hurt continues.

misunderstood as culture, we have embraced a sickness, minds damaged, we know no better.

we devour each other in hopes that it’ll make one stronger, but no strength is gained if even one is in pain.

regurgitated self-hate is still self-hate and it taste just as bad the second time. redundancy is nothing but practice, of which we need none. 

 

13 Responses to “Hurt people, hurt people.”

  1. innerstanding isness August 4, 2012 at 1:04 PM #

    Reblogged this on Innerstanding Isness and commented:
    Hurt people, hurt people.

    • hunglikejesus August 4, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

      Thank you sis and so quick.

      • diaryofanegress August 4, 2012 at 2:29 PM #

        Wonderful. Very poignant and true.

        • hunglikejesush August 4, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

          as simple and as short as this piece is, it took a lot of time to come together and I don’t know why.

          Thank you for reading this and spending some time here.

  2. mary burrell August 5, 2012 at 1:40 PM #

    That is poignant, This is such an apropo piece. Especially where Jesse Lee Peterson is concerned that man is filled with such hate and venom for black women and black people.Just tragic. Peace and Blessing.

    • hunglikejesush August 5, 2012 at 2:09 PM #

      Thank you for stopping by Ms. Mary, I have enjoyed reading your comments as well, I love smart women.

      I’m afraid this piece will always be apropos as we love to hate each other. And yes, both men make me wonder what happened to them, they are very, very anti-Black or mad or jealous or crazy or something.

      Again, thank you so much for stopping by and please, stop by anytime.

  3. mary burrell August 5, 2012 at 1:51 PM #

    Did you notice how Jesse Lee Peterson looks like the devil.

    • hunglikejesush August 5, 2012 at 2:10 PM #

      he looks like a victim of self-hate to me, but I guess that could be the devil as well.

  4. honeytreebee March 16, 2013 at 8:39 AM #

    This reminds me of a game I once watch where the guy ends up getting tackled by his own team mate as he scores a touch down for the opposing side.

  5. No Black Pete July 20, 2013 at 11:01 AM #

    Great peace. If I had found it before, I might have made it my introduction. I used to call it vinegar and honey. Coz these sick beings know how to smile while they injure our children (and adults). Even though, I do not know these poison preachers, I do know plenty of men like them. Let me take the opportunity to say hi and die to Uncle Ruckus. Peace.

  6. No Black Pete July 20, 2013 at 11:02 AM #

    (Plz change “peace” to “piece”.)

    • hunglikejesus July 20, 2013 at 11:06 AM #

      I’ll try to remember that, thank you.

      • No Black Pete July 20, 2013 at 11:08 AM #

        (NO. In my comment! And the brackets show to delete the revision comments. Thx.)

Leave a Reply

