I have grown

16 Jun

this may enhance your reading pleasure:

Image

I have become my shelter from this storm, my legs have become strong, I can stand on my own.

My horizons no longer hold smoke and ruins, broken things and deflated dreams and bricked up ego, in it’s place are green grass and open space in which to build and develop the little boy that never got off of his knees.

No more waiting for hand outs and allowance, gone is the surrender of power to the undeserving, the belittling of self in accordance to ankle deep social criterion was last night.

Gone is never knowing when to laugh or cry, grey skies now threaten inclement weather and not deep holes from in which to climb out.

Weakness is no longer a character flaw, but a select moment in time when strength is not needed.

I am more than collection of body parts acting as one, I am a son, a cousin, a nephew, a friend, a mate, a thinker. I am a visionary with hopes of leaving this place for the next, I am the wind.

Though battle worn I be war ready, my weapons are thought and passion, my defense is knowing I have looked at death and it no longer controls.

The love of life is something I have never known and still not fully realized, but I still continue to get up and carry on and in that, I have grown.

12 Responses to “I have grown”

  1. diaryofanegress June 16, 2012 at 8:40 PM #

    Again beautiful writing.

  2. robyn June 17, 2012 at 8:30 AM #

    I like your last verse,”I continue….” Tat alone is of a true warrior speaking. Continue with life. You’re talented my brother πŸ™‚

  3. innerstanding isness June 19, 2012 at 4:09 PM #

    Reblogged this on innerstanding isness.

  4. Khadijah June 19, 2012 at 10:18 PM #

    Beautifully introspective and inspiring. I feel full. Thank you for sharing…

    • hunglikejesus June 19, 2012 at 10:21 PM #

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read this piece.

      • Noelle Clearwater June 20, 2012 at 12:26 AM #

        Reading your words of courage and transformation was deeply heart-opening. I was feeling sad and discouraged tonight in particular. A friend, not knowing that, sent me this link. I am grateful to him and to you. I wish you well on your journey my friend.
        Peace,
        Noelle

        • hunglikejesus June 20, 2012 at 5:54 AM #

          It’s comments like yours that keep me going. My job is done if one person is fueled to move forward. Many of the pieces here are about moving on and getting to the other side. Please continue to read my work whenever you feel like laying down a stopping.

          Again, you have made this worth all my efforts and I thank you with everything that makes me me.

          Peace.

  5. honeytreebee March 14, 2013 at 5:17 AM #

    You write so well Jesus… sometimes you leave little or nothing left to say.

Leave a Reply

