where i’m from *experimental*

27 May

this may enhance your reading pleasure:

Image

see up there, the second star on the right, just above luna? that’s my backyard.

where i come from people are human and not just representatives of life.

we have no laws but are ruled by the forces of nature, she is our mother.

some came before us, you call them the dogon, we call them kin.

where i’m from wars are between two people and it’s quiet and both walk away, better.

we don’t have time there, our bodies are clocks and they govern.

our sky is what you call tan, we breath differently from here, deeper.

we lost hate during the last rotation, when the gods visited.

we have no work, everyone is provided for by everyone.

we don’t have many words, words cause confusion and misunderstandings, we have each other.

we have no possessions, no ownership, the gods took that also, we have home.

i want to go back when this is done, i can’t breath freely here.

we also have no money, no need, we are free.

where i’m from it doesn’t have a name really, we call it home, the star on the right just above luna.

where i’m from we can’t see distants, only details, our air is thick.

where i’m from we have two suns, one’s dying the other mourns.

when it rains where i’m from, the rain never reaches the ground, air keeps it and feeds all.

we really don’t have nighttime either, but i like this nighttime here, the people go in.

we don’t eat animals where i’m from and they don’t eat us.

we have what we call jubalusting, everything on the planet seeks level without interfering with anything else.

i was born into it and it’s all i know.

they say here is a classroom, i have learned a lot, but nothing i can use.

we don’t have love either, not like you have. where i’m from love is all you can see and imagine, not just for humans but all.

where i’m from people are human, not just representatives of life.

14 Responses to “where i’m from *experimental*”

  1. diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 7:21 PM #

    I could read your poetry all day and get nothing done! You are so talented and so profound. Does your pain come from a longing to belong to …something? Does it come from life and its pitfalls? Does it come from being brown and insignificant? Mine does. I am…nothing.

    You must publish a book of poetry. I saw Maya Angelou read her poetry once and I was so struck, I cried. Yours does that for me. It taps into something so primal, so deeply hidden, I don’t know how to feel.

    You know, you could publish your work yourself if the publishing companies aren’t willing to do it. That’s the route I will have to take with my childrens’ book. I don’t know your exact situation but, my God, please keep putting this out there.

    I need to read more of it.

    • hunglikejesus May 27, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

      OMG!! Sista, you made it worth it just then. I have suffered a lot in my life and it’s still a struggle for me. Because of depression I became very introspective, I live inside my head. Top that off with being an only child and extremely shy. Also, hold on to your hat….I have lived so many lives in so many places, for so long my reserves are deep.

      Also, I naturally and unhealthily hold on to all my emotions. You know the strong, silent type. Anyway, that’s it, I’m a big mess.

      Thank you so much for vote of confidence and I will return the favor when I can climb outside of myself. Us depressive are very self-centered.

      I was approached by a publisher last week, but it was nothing and I really can’t see changing for this stuff that comes from so much hurt. It’s here to help if possible.

      Again Sista, thank you and good luck with the children’s books, maybe I can contribute something to them.

      • diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 7:39 PM #

        Just knowing I’m not alone…you are helping me tremendously…I’m here if you need to talk.

        • hunglikejesus May 27, 2012 at 7:50 PM #

          Asante sana, it’s funny cause that’s what I usually say to others. Yes, I may just take you up on that and remember you said it.

          • diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 8:15 PM #

            Please do…and I mean it.

            • hunglikejesus May 27, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

              yes but not on the comment section of this page.

              • diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 9:37 PM #

                I’m writing a post dedicated to our pain. I just finished the last touches on a post called rap, hip hop and all that jazz. I’ll publish it tomorrow.

  2. CREE-EIGHT May 29, 2012 at 5:48 AM #

    WOW. Just wow. Just wow. …..

  3. CREE-EIGHT May 29, 2012 at 5:50 AM #

    PERFECT

    • hunglikejesus May 29, 2012 at 6:18 AM #

      Your opinion means so much to me. Black women have been my biggest supporters and I love you for that. Thank you so much, I feel motivated to continue.

      • truthbetold May 29, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

        I left you an email…

      • T.Bee March 10, 2013 at 8:54 AM #

        Jesus I’m ready to read the full enght story. Please write a book. I’ll read it for all time.

Leave a Reply

