I can remember when

7 May

Image

I can remember when.

Fresh sheets hung on the line, the sunlight and breeze transformed them into curtains to another realty.

I can remember when.

The lane, dusty and narrow, like a old ribbon thrown away and left for something new, welcomed the bared feet of playing children.

I can remember when.

The hem of her skirt was my life line and I held on because my life she knew and she loved me.

I can remember when.

Dew wet grass was my threshold to a day filled with misadventure and mystery, if only in a child’s mind.

I can remember when.

He would come home and we would meet him and pillage the unsung hero’s pockets for treasure and treats. We listened for that voice that meant so much.

I can remember when.

We played in the sun and time would diminish and life was all that we could see. It was up the lane and around the house and all were decades apart. Life was play.

I can remember when.

She left us, called to the upper room, she would not stay here. Spirits as bright as hers are for the world. The anchor gone, we would scatter.

I can remember when.

Days grew short and no more misadventures, all mysteries known. Children no more.

I can remember when.

He left us, a hero fallen, dusty lane settled, treasures picked over, treats spoiled. An anchor gone and we would scatter.

I can remember when.

I left for the last time, no longer a boy, not yet a man and the world in front of me. Didn’t look back, nothing left to see.

11 Responses to “I can remember when”

  1. Lynn May 7, 2012 at 7:02 PM #

    Wow, tears in my eyes, for me, those times seem like yesterday, you worded my memories perfectly….thank you.

    • hunglikejesus May 7, 2012 at 7:18 PM #

      This comment alone makes this whole page worth it and give me the go ahead to continue. Thank you so much. Them years was good.

  2. odell May 7, 2012 at 8:43 PM #

    That was absolutly beautiful mother and fathers day are always hard for me it seems like yeterday but they have been gone so long maother and fathers day unbareable for for me

    • hunglikejesus May 7, 2012 at 8:57 PM #

      Thank you Ms. Odell.

      This is actually about my grandparents but the feeling are the same. I use to spend summers there and a went to school down there for a little while.

  3. innerstanding isness May 8, 2012 at 2:44 AM #

    Reblogged this on innerstanding isness.

  4. Cathy May 8, 2012 at 6:51 PM #

    If I close my eyes; just for a second i can remember it all. There is nothing and mean nothing, even to this day, can compare to those memories. Well written and artistically explained.

    • hunglikejesus May 8, 2012 at 8:00 PM #

      I still say we had the best upbringing. Not always sunny but it was the best.

    • hunglikejesus May 8, 2012 at 8:03 PM #

      Don’t tell nobody I write all these at work.

  5. carolyn May 9, 2012 at 6:36 PM #

    Well said….and very well written…

    • rudeboi May 9, 2012 at 6:42 PM #

      thank ya thank ya.

      I had to hide when I was writing this because I got teary…….at work.

  6. diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 7:30 PM #

    ..I’m actually tearing up now…That was moving, stunning, riveting, so sad and brings back so many memories.

Leave a Reply

