Rage Turned Inward

28 Apr


Do you know me? then shut up.

Teeth grinding and I can’t even see.

Lips pursed tight and thoughts on fire.

Muscles inextinguishable and reality on yield.

I put my hands around the throat of my invisible tormentor and squeeze.


I don’t wanna talk I don’t wanna listen I don’t wanna hear I don’t want you I don’t want me I don’t wanna come I don’t wanna go I don’t wanna feel I don’t wanna see I wanna be mad I wanna hate I wanna kill I wanna be killed I wanna hurt I wanna scream I want it dark I want it cold I gotta go I gotta disappear I gotta run I gotta choke I gotta hit I gotta kick I gotta burst I need to move I need stop I need to pierce I need to stab I need to bleed I need to be tight I need to be left I need to be alone.


The world is safe, all these things are Rage Turned Inward. That is depression.

16 Responses to “Rage Turned Inward”

  1. innerstanding isness April 29, 2012 at 1:08 AM #

    Reblogged this on innerstanding isness.

  2. TrojanPam May 2, 2012 at 12:47 AM #

    The picture says it all, I can definitely relate to those feelings, which remind me of a quote by someone (who I forget) who said something like this: “Most men (and women) live lives of quiet desperation.”

    Given the amount of recreational drugs, alcohol, and over-eating that afflicts the U.S. (and world) population, I suspect the above is more true than not.

  3. odell May 5, 2012 at 8:09 AM #

    True writting for the soul

  4. diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 9:15 AM #

    Powerful stuff….I love this!

    • hunglikejesus May 27, 2012 at 1:47 PM #

      This was a particularly bad morning for me and this just came to me. It came in a number of different ways, but this way more user friendly.

  5. diaryofanegress May 27, 2012 at 9:18 AM #

    Reblogged this on diaryofanegress.

  6. sepultura13 May 29, 2012 at 8:14 PM #

    Very powerful – I love it.

    • hunglikejesus May 29, 2012 at 8:25 PM #

      thank you so much for reading it.

      • diaryofanegress June 14, 2012 at 7:58 PM #

        I’ve read this piece about 10 times now and it rings truer and truer.

        • hunglikejesus June 15, 2012 at 6:23 AM #

          You could read this everyday to relieve some tension. It worked for me, just saying these words is relief.

          • T.Bee March 11, 2013 at 8:26 PM #

            Being black and living here we have all felt this at one time or another. I don’t know if, it ever really leaves. I feel it more on some days more than othere.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

