Am I My Sista’s Keepa??

19 Dec

It’s no secret to anyone who has followed me for any reasonable amount of time how I feel about Black women. There’s something in the way she moves that moves me.

We have more than enough examples of how Black women aren’t doing it right. Ratchetness seems to be the order of the day or as I like to refer to them, “diamonds in the rough”, well, on a good day I’ll refer to them in such a way.

Seriously, we all come from long lines of women that did what was needed so that we had food on the table and some sense of security. The woman that would send us to get our own switch is the same woman that kept us close all night when our fevers wouldn’t cooperate. She watched over us as we grew into men and women, and we still wouldn’t dare a say a bad word in front of her nor let her see us sip a beer. Or maybe that’s just me.

This brings me to the reason I’m putting fingers to keyboard and trying hard not to be sexist, really hard; I’ve had the opportunity to see Black women in all aspects of life. My very own mother now heads a huge nonprofit that not only serves needy children, but an entire community. My father knew she had his back when he started this organization. He was able to lead the way for all these years knowing she stood firmly behind him until his recent passing. She now puts the smiles on the faces of children that wouldn’t necessarily have them and especially this time of year. I couldn’t be more proud of her.

I happen to work for a company that has undergone some “restructuring” for lack of a more accurate term. After a bit of a shake up and a little rattling around what came out after the dust settled, was a company that for all intents and purposes is being ran by Black women. I won’t get into the boring details such as job titles and roles played, but this is something I have never ever seen. I find it very interesting to watch these woman do the dance that a lot of women cannot do. And that is “dance” with other women. I have seen it and so have most of you and if I’m wrong I’m sure someone will check me. These women not only do the “dance” they do the dance very well and have been very successful at it.

Because of the nature of this business we have to work closely with these individuals and me being me, I really don’t care for that kind of closeness. They have put up with me like family, and that is no easy task. I’m not intentionally difficult, I’m just me and that includes an absolute disdain for authority, not to be confused with the people that holds it. I hate being told what to do, but these women for the most part do it everyday. They are really incredible people with a rainbow of personalities and skills to handle this very demanding career field. To be just though, I must admit to you that not all these women are Black. We have few different races which includes one white lady and one Latina. But the most important part is they are all women, running things and doing it very well indeed. I enjoy working with them because they are female, and I’m sure they enjoy “for the most part” wondering what I’ll do today. They have to deal with not only me, but an assortment of peoples from all walks of life during this time called Q4. We have one hundred plus seasonal workers coming in, and that alone is a task.

Q4 is short for 4th quarter which the holiday season and things are busy there at the job. They are working around the clock, yes these few women are keeping the company running 24/7. Something I wouldn’t do, not even at all.

I’m not writing this for favor because like my disdain for authority is just as powerful as my disdain for ass kissing. I tell you all this because I wanted you to know. This is a story that my blog has been about since the giddy up. I absolutely respect these women in a way that only I could. I respect their efforts and the ease at which they pull this whole thing off or how easy they make it look. I don’t like the word hero so I won’t use it, but they are approaching a status that may be considered heroic by some, no doubt. It should be noted that all my coworkers are worthy of articles in their own right, but first things first.

I think this is a story that should be national news, we could really use some good news.

15 Responses to “Am I My Sista’s Keepa??”

  1. stuartbramhall December 19, 2013 at 6:46 PM #

    I have been fortunate to have black women very similar to those you describe in my own life. I share your awe.

    • hunglikejesus December 19, 2013 at 9:02 PM #

      Yeah, they keep me in line as best they can. I have good time with and they don’t even know about this post. Well, maybe they know now.

      Thank you for stopping by.

  2. Jeff Nguyen December 19, 2013 at 8:20 PM #

    We definitely need more good news, good to hear from you again, too.

    • hunglikejesus December 20, 2013 at 9:53 PM #

      I don’t remember if I replied to your comment. Yeah, of course I could go to the site and just check. But that would mean me getting up and that’s not gonna happen.

      I think all of us bloggers need to go ahead and write a feel good story a couple times a month. If nothing but to send them into the ether.

      Thank you for stopping by. I never stopped “writing” I just haven’t felt the need to purge or publish as some call it lately.

      • Jeff Nguyen December 21, 2013 at 10:16 AM #

        I do tend to focus on what’s broken, I like your suggestion to remember what’s working. Good choice to give props to your deserving managers. I wish the ones I work for were of such high caliber.

        • hunglikejesus December 21, 2013 at 10:39 AM #

          We must remember to count our blessing wherever we find them.

          I owe this life a great deal and writing this blurb about something good doesn’t even begin the progress of giving back.

          I am broken for sure, but I try.

  3. mary burrell December 19, 2013 at 9:10 PM #

    Thanks for giving these ladies their props.

    • hunglikejesus December 19, 2013 at 9:18 PM #

      HEY Ms. Mary!!!! Where you been?

      These ladies I work for are really good at what they do and they need their props.

      Thank you stopping by sis.

  4. Charvita December 20, 2013 at 5:49 PM #

    I thought this was well written. Thank you for all that you said. Sometimes being a manager you dont really know the impact that you have on the people that work for you. It was a rough road. It was God that gave us the strength and the directions to make it happen. I give him all the credit.

    • hunglikejesus December 20, 2013 at 7:06 PM #

      Thank you.

      Everybody this comment right here is from my manager and one of the ladies I wrote about in this piece. A beautiful woman on her own.

      Let me stop, I know there is some kinda rule I’m breaking.

      Yes, Ms. Charvita you are appreciated.

      • honeytreebee December 22, 2013 at 6:25 AM #

        Hey Tyrone,

        You have a way with words. Perhaps it is that you have that rare gift of giving meaning and feeling to everything you say.

  5. mstoogood4yall December 20, 2013 at 9:15 PM #

    aw how sweet.

  6. No Black Pete December 22, 2013 at 3:11 PM #

    Thanks for showing that managers can be appreciated. That is all I can utter right now in my hellidaze. (Seriously, what is up with that switch? We gonna have to talk if I get back next year.)

    • hunglikejesus December 23, 2013 at 9:37 AM #

      It’s was really about the appreciation of Black women in charge. They happen to be my managers. Nothing’s changed I’m still the hellrazor I’ve always been and I can’t even help it.

      Get back from where next year? Back to the states?

  7. ajualuv February 7, 2014 at 7:43 AM #

    This is a beautiful piece. Thank you for your love of women. It is refreshing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

