My Flower With a Missing Petal

28 Sep

Image

She was a revalation.

She came to me as such.

With gentle gaze my eyes could not reckon, not even with mountainous effort.

She covered my sight like a rolling mist, she was absolute, her sweetness shook me.

I wanted this woman and I would have this woman, like long drinks of cold water when only water would do.

My thoughts wrapped around her and we became fused and she devoured me.

I loved her like light, life and upliftment, she could not commit, something had been spoiled and she saw that something in me.

Long hours I reasoned, neither day nor night brought forth resolution.

Had guilty pleasure given way to simple pleasure?

I want to need her, I need to want her. It’s what I’m here for or why am I here?

How could I unlock her sacred heart and move in?

Please.

The secret would remain so and I would remain only half known.

My flower was still my flower and her stains she will not allow to be washed away.

My eyes cannot see but her glory as she puts her hands up to cover them.

My mouth speaks of my love for her as she silences me with a kiss.

Her hurt I can now feel and I let her be, I let her go.

When will she let her hurt go and let herself live?

this piece came to me as a friend and I were talking about past relationships. We came to the conclusion that most of the women we had known and loved had been abused. Either sexually or what have you. They often don’t feel like they should be loved or could be loved. I want all of them to know that you can be loved and will be loved if you let that happen.  

17 Responses to “My Flower With a Missing Petal”

  1. innerstanding isness September 28, 2012 at 6:19 PM #

    Reblogged this on Innerstanding Isness.

    • hunglikejesush September 28, 2012 at 9:17 PM #

      thank you Sista

      • truthbetold September 29, 2012 at 2:05 PM #

        “I wanted this woman and I would have this woman, like long drinks of cold water when only water would do.

        My thoughts wrapped around her and we became fused and she devoured me.”

        Damn.

        Uh….Jesus?
        Where did this come from? LOL! Good Lord! You know, I’d like to meet this woman who inspired you.

        • hunglikejesus September 29, 2012 at 4:10 PM #

          Thank you Sista for your input. My inspiration is you and all Black women who have a petal missing. We can sometime forget our women need us no matter what condition we find ourselves in. This piece speaks to just that.

          Again, thank you so much for stopping by.

          • truthbetold September 29, 2012 at 5:07 PM #

            Yes we do need you. We need each other. I have hope that there are a few of us that are starting to realize this.

            • hunglikejesush September 29, 2012 at 9:57 PM #

              I might be just getting cynical in my old age, but I don’t think Black folk realize that WE are all WE have. I would like to see a display like when my parents took me to see Nina Simone back when I was knee high to duck. It was a sea of Afros and Black love. I was on my father’s shoulders and though I was not socially conscious the vibe and the love was thick. That’s what I want for us.

  2. mary burrell September 29, 2012 at 8:11 PM #

    This is beautiful and sad. The longing. Yes brother many women are afraid of receivng love and giving for fear of being hurt or abused. It is a beutiful sentiment indeed. I used to know a brother who wrote me a beautiful poem like this. He ended up hurting me psychologically. I got healed after many years. But I love a man who can say and write beautiful words. Bravo again

    • hunglikejesush September 29, 2012 at 10:21 PM #

      The saddest part about this whole thing is the fact that so many Black women have been abused. The chances of meeting a women without children is probably the same as meeting a woman who hasn’t been abused. I love children so that’s no problem, but the abuse is something we can do without. This can also explain why we can’t seem to straighten up and fly right.

      I have said for awhile now that until we get our emotional and mental illnesses fixed we can most certainly forget about fixing anything else. I will always believe that and I hold myself as an example. I had a beautiful life with a beautiful star of a wife and my mental illness chipped away at that relationship until it was nothing rubble on the ground. And I know a good thing when I see it and I’m still powerless to save it being sick.

      Ms. Mary I thank you for your always encouraging words and for spending time with me here. Can you please explain to me why the most interesting women seem to only exist on this computer box? I have meet the most beautiful people here this contraption and there must be some in my real world………oh well.

      Again thank you sista, you are much appreciated.

  3. mary burrell September 29, 2012 at 8:14 PM #

    The words are so delicious and it makes me want to drink lots of water or eat something sinfully delicious like dessert. You have a truly god given talent. just love all your stuff. Peace and light.

    • hunglikejesush September 29, 2012 at 10:23 PM #

      you can’t go wrong drinking water……unless it’s tap water or you drink to much. You know what I mean.

      Thank you a million times.

  4. mary burrell September 29, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

    Forgive my horrendous spelling.

    • hunglikejesush September 29, 2012 at 9:49 PM #

      if you wasn’t for spell check my writing would be nothing but gibberish. So if you’ll forgive me then I’ll most certainly forgive you.

  5. mary burrell September 29, 2012 at 10:31 PM #

    Why the most interesting women are on the internet loving your work. It’s weird but I’m sure you meet lovely ladies everday. I love the beautiful words. The outside world is filled with ugly mean people. This is a respite for me. So you are doing me a favor. I don’t meet too many black people that care about anything pure and lovely and positive.

    • hunglikejesush September 29, 2012 at 10:56 PM #

      I meet women, but not any that have much to say about things interesting. I love them, I really do, but I wanna talk with people about things of the world and beyond. I’m not into pop culture much and a lot of the women I meet are.

      Black people are sick for the most part and sick people don’t function properly.

  6. Robyn October 4, 2012 at 6:04 AM #

    Nice

    • hunglikejesush October 4, 2012 at 10:50 AM #

      Thank you Sista for stopping by and reading this. It’s for you and all women like you.

      • Robyn October 4, 2012 at 2:23 PM #

        Yes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

